Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made this for Super Bowl '14....Rave reviews. I agree with the reviews and cut down the Broth. I did roast some of my own peppers for a fabulous fresh flavor. I served it in a bowl, like a chili, topped with chopped cilantro, sour cream, and grated cheddar with warm flour tortilla's for dipping....A REALLY BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I like this, the boyfriend REALLY liked it. We're having leftovers tomorrow. I put in 2 cups broth and it was still extremely liquidy like soup though. And the cubed meat we bought was cubed pork chops, not the best... Pork shoulder cut into cubes would have been 100% better but I bought what my grocery store offered that I could make in a timely manner, on a weeknight. To make it the best, it would have taken a lot longer and I didn't have that kind of time tonight. I will try again with pork shoulder. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This recipe reminds me of my Mom's version of chili verde. I absolutely LOVE it. I had been making another recipe from this site for the longest (one that does not have tomatoes in it) until I found this one. Wish I had seen this one first seeing as how my husband hates this one. He never tasted chili verde before I made it & he is not a fan of tomatoes so when I tried this recipe on him he was shocked to say the least. Great recipe, just wish I could make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This stuff is amazing! I got my roasted chiles and tomatillo sauce from work, browned the meat (pork shoulder), onions and garlic, then threw all ingredients in the slow cooker. I used 4 c. chicken stock and diced tomatoes with jalepenos. Cooked undisturbed for 7 hours on low. At this point still very watery, so added olive oil/flour roux. This is also when I strained out my 2 c. of veggies and pureed in blender. Do not omit this step!! Then I turned slow cooker up to high and simmered one hour. It was perfect!!! Quite spicy, and so delicious on breakfast burritos. Really took me back to the first and only time I ever had Colorado green chili, which I've been dreaming about for the past decade! I brought half the pot to the cooks at work for their professional opinion, and they loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrytheterrifyc
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Simple yet delicious!! Great use for my freshly canned green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it twice now. I live in Seattle and used canned chillies (3mild and 1 hot...still spicy) and sour cream on top. This is great! Thanks Rosie for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I started off with some dried onion, chicken base, chopped hatch chilies, garlic powder & a bottle of dark beer. I added this along with pork chunks to the crock pot. After 8-9 hrs, I fried a little with some of the juices adding the canned tomatillos, chopped fresh tomatoes, cilantro, a dash of GOYA Adobo seasoning. Tossed on green onions and tortillas and you have a WINNING DINNER!! My husband is Mexican, he gave this an 11 1/2 + , he loved it so much, his eyes rolled in the back of his head!! Need I say more? Just make it and you too will see what I'm talking about! THANK YOU ROSIE55! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious!!! Used 4 cups broth and thickened with alittle cornstarch. Used 1 cup fresh roasted hatch chiles cause Im a wimp and my hubby added more to his bowl. Did not add cloves as I believe it would taste weird. I will save them for the pie and ham. Used fire roasted tomatoes for that extra smokey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is really good! Let it cook and cook and cook... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States