Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were easy to make, baked up nicely and cut well. I would have liked it if they had a more pronounced pumpkin flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I had to try a bite before I frosted these and they are wonderful! They do not fall apart when cut and they flavor is very good. I did use half brown sugar, half white and tweaked the spices only a little after reading other reviews. I'm sure they'd be excellent just as the recipe is written. I truly appreciate the fact that the recipe was written using butter, not vegetable oil. I wish I could search Allrecipes to avoid ingredients like vegetable oil, which I no longer use. Thanks so much for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very good and moist. I did put in a larger pan (cookie sheet used for sheet cakes) and cooked about 22 minutes. I then put in the refrigerator and chilled before frosting. I doubled the frosting recipe and added in a little bit of maple syrup. I had a little bit of frosting left over for sugar cookies tomorrow :) After frosting, I chilled again. They cut into bars nicely. I sprinkled nuts on top instead of putting in the mix and served them on a platter for a potluck. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
OMG, this is FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!! I added whole cranberries to this and frosted it with cream cheese frosting and YUMMMMMMMY! My kids and Husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Everybody wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
As other reviewers have said, this is a cake not a bar. It's good and fairly moist, I liked the frosting, but it was nothing amazing. There are other pumpkin cake recipes on this site that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Amazingly awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were excellant, will use this recipe again and again! I disagree with another reviewer, this makes the perfect amount of frosting. The frosting is pretty sweet so I would not want any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My rating really isn't accurate since both batches of these bars were gone before I could get so much as a bite, but from what I hear, they're wonderful! They were very easy to make and I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This dessert is amazing! The only thing I did differently was put it in a 9 x 13 pan. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States