Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This recipe was a big hit! I omitted the walnuts, because my father can't eat them. However I added crumbled up Gingersnap Cookies instead. I had nothing but raves. I brought a few bars to work and was told I needed to make them for the Holiday bakeoff. And I think I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I tried this recipe using fresh pumpkin, but was still not impressed. Although they were very moist, I would call this "Colonial Pumpkin Cake", as it needs a plate and fork, not just fingers. Also I thought it was lacking in flavor. In it's defense, my husband and in-laws thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I didnt have cream cheese frosting so i used vanilla (just as good)...My co-workers loved them. Not a crumb left. Great flavor and I don't like pumpkin, made them for halloween. VERY MOIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I have horrible luck with baking, and last year I made a round of failed pumpkin cookies and breads, but this cake-like snack actually turned out well! It's not exactly a finger food, though. I like it just fine without the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent, but it is more of a cake than a cookie bar. I made it with fresh pumpkin puree and substituted 1 cup brown sugar for the white sugar and added 1/2 tsp of allspice. It was moist and delicious and doesn't even need the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Very good! Moist and delicious! A good "spice" bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Really good cake. Not a very good "bar." Like one of the other reviewers, I was looking for something more like a finger food and this really needs a fork. As a cake though, it is very yummy. Will try again. Doubled the frosting. May try with a little clove and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was delicious! I made it for treats at church and it was a big hit. Very moist - I had a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamarama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
These are very good. Mine were cooked to perfection in 28 minutes, so I would recommend checking them early. Also, if you like lots of frosting you may want to consider doubling the frosting; I was barely able to cover them with a thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I found the bars to be more like cake than like a cookie bar. They were way too rich for me and I had trouble cutting them neatly. They were pretty messy and although I wanted to use them as a finger food, I wasn't able to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States