Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
These were bland even though I increased the cinnamon by almost double. The texture was fair, I pulled them from the oven 4-5 minutes early to keep them moist. I think an oil recipe would have allowed the pumpkin flavor to come through better. After tasting, I topped the frosting w/crushed skor and a butterscoth swirl to try and salvage them. This made them beautiful, and tasty in my kids opinion, but they were not salvagable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Good, but needs a little more spice. Perhaps I should have used more pumpkin puree or pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I thought this was a very easy & delicious recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Save this frosting recipe! This turned out more like a spice/pumpkin cake than dense bars. I've tried it both in a 9x13 and jelly roll pan, both work out. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. It does turn out more like a dense cake but is moist and the icing is fabulous. A nice change from the standard pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
A great fall recipe or for the holidays. I have some frozen in the fridge as I type. I love how easy it is and how well it bakes. Just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe is easy and tastey. I even served it w/o the frosting (to reduce the fat). Instead I just sprinkled on a couple TB of a yellow cake mix. This recipe also works with oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this and took it to my mom's house for Thanksgiving, and she decided that I'd have to make it every time I visit her from now on. Hmmm... maybe I really should have rated it a 1 star. Anyways, it's a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
It was very easy to prepare foolproof! I did not want the frosting to be extremely sweet and only used 2 cups of confectioner's sugar and 6oz. of cream cheese. It was great! My whole family enjoyed it and it made my sister-in-law jealous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
The kids loved this recipe! The maple in the frosting is delicious! Double the frosting recipe & add a little extra cinnamon to the pumpkin batter does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States