Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Had this at a party this winter and it was perfect. Very rich so I just had one but boy was it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was good. Sweet, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
A super-yummy extra-indulgent treat!! I used Spiced Rum, which I would highly recommend for a little added flavor. Also, instead of whipped cream I put a small scoop of vanilla ice cream into each mug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was so excited to try this recipe. The flavor was good, however, I have never had a drink with so much butter in it. I couldn't finish it and had to keep spooning butter off the top of the drink. I really thought that I would like. If you make this and are not used to having butter in your drinks, I would cut the butter down to half, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
WOW! You only need one of these! Very sweet and very good! Careful. It will make you very sleepy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was really disappointed. It was watery yet overly greasy without much other flavor. I couldn't taste the spices at all and definitely did get that "cinnamon bun" flavor that other reviewers mentioned. Was looking for a great hot holiday after dinner drink...I will keep on looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome!!!!!! I did if for four of us for a Christmas meal I put together. Everyone was in awe of the incredible taste. Like eveyone says (who've tried it) - like drinking a liquid cinnamon bun. So good in fact, that I was asked to make more for another larger Christmas party on Boxing Day. Again, nothing but oohs and aahs.. This is now a Cristmas tradition for my Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used Splenda brown sugar (caution: read the label and only use half; it's concentrated!) and I also used Light apple juice from Walmart Supercenter. I used Reddi Whip extra creamy whipped cream from the can and sprinkled nutmeg on top. I love things that are sweet, but please notice that many of the reviews say "it was so sweet." Even though I used "light" apple juice and Splenda, I must agree, I would cut the brown sugar down to only 1 cup or 1-1/2 at the very most. Y'all this stuff is wonderful but TOO SWEET. I added a stick of unsalted butter (no margarine for me!) and I added 1/2 cup of Butter Schnapps for a smooth flavor. I will make again for an upcoming Christmas Carol Hayride, but I will cut the brown sugar. Everything else was good, and I loved using my slow cooker and making my house smell wonderful. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy to make and serve. I served it with Thanksgiving dessert and received a ton of compliments. Since I do not keep whole cloves on hand, I just emptied out a teabag and put 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves in the empty teabag. I then put the teabag in the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients. (I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon allspice to the teabag.) I love vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of that to the water mixture. These additions mingle well with the original recipe, especially if you love holidy spices like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Fabulous, a new Thanksgiving favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States