Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Super rich! Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Delicious...Tastes just like the butter rum dum dum suckers I ate as a kid :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Had this at a party this winter and it was perfect. Very rich so I just had one but boy was it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was good. Sweet, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
A super-yummy extra-indulgent treat!! I used Spiced Rum, which I would highly recommend for a little added flavor. Also, instead of whipped cream I put a small scoop of vanilla ice cream into each mug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was so excited to try this recipe. The flavor was good, however, I have never had a drink with so much butter in it. I couldn't finish it and had to keep spooning butter off the top of the drink. I really thought that I would like. If you make this and are not used to having butter in your drinks, I would cut the butter down to half, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
WOW! You only need one of these! Very sweet and very good! Careful. It will make you very sleepy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was really disappointed. It was watery yet overly greasy without much other flavor. I couldn't taste the spices at all and definitely did get that "cinnamon bun" flavor that other reviewers mentioned. Was looking for a great hot holiday after dinner drink...I will keep on looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome!!!!!! I did if for four of us for a Christmas meal I put together. Everyone was in awe of the incredible taste. Like eveyone says (who've tried it) - like drinking a liquid cinnamon bun. So good in fact, that I was asked to make more for another larger Christmas party on Boxing Day. Again, nothing but oohs and aahs.. This is now a Cristmas tradition for my Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used Splenda brown sugar (caution: read the label and only use half; it's concentrated!) and I also used Light apple juice from Walmart Supercenter. I used Reddi Whip extra creamy whipped cream from the can and sprinkled nutmeg on top. I love things that are sweet, but please notice that many of the reviews say "it was so sweet." Even though I used "light" apple juice and Splenda, I must agree, I would cut the brown sugar down to only 1 cup or 1-1/2 at the very most. Y'all this stuff is wonderful but TOO SWEET. I added a stick of unsalted butter (no margarine for me!) and I added 1/2 cup of Butter Schnapps for a smooth flavor. I will make again for an upcoming Christmas Carol Hayride, but I will cut the brown sugar. Everything else was good, and I loved using my slow cooker and making my house smell wonderful. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States