Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for new years eve and it turned out wonderfully. I added the captains to each glass instead of in the crockpot so that it wouldn't turn out too strong. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and it was great, there is butter in the drink obviously but it's not gross and slimey like some reviewers say. I also liked how sweet it was, it was perfect for my family, I guess we have a sweet tooth. I will make this again next year around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Will cut back on sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
WOW! I just did a test run of this before I serve it on Christmas day. I did a 1/2 recipe, except I only used 1/4 of rum. I also used a stove top pan for speed and kept it just below a simmer for 2 hours. I used spiced rum since it's all I had. I can't wait to put it in the crockpot tomorrow- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
THE BEST! I had lots of requests for the recipe. I add my rum individually in the mug instead of the crock pot. That way everyone can have a glass - kids and adults. Absolutely awesome. I did add an extra quart of water to lessen the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
We tried this tonight and it was good, but way too sweet. Next time we'll cut the sugar in half. Tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
i made this and it smelled delicous all day, but when the time came and we actually had some, it was kinda mediciny tasting and the butter as other have said, floated to the top and made my lips feel all weird. It was very unpleasing. And It Wasnt because my crock pot wasn't hot enough because i had it simmering for 12 hours. I will not make this again, i made it, me and my hubby took 2 sips, and threw it out and ended up have rum and coke instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very good! I actually added the spices in ground form and no one complained...in fact, everyone asked for seconds! Thanks, this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made this on Halloween because we were going to be sitting outside around a fire and I wanted a warm cocktail.It was awesome.I followed it exactly and made a huge crockpot of it.At first I thought I made way too much and would have leftovers, but erverybody kept refilling their mugs and saying they loved it.Not for the calorie conscious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Great flavor, but far too sweet for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Made this for Christmas Day last year, it came out good but very strong! I will probably make again, but I will cut down on the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobeth9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States