Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wooh man! This was VERY VERY strong for my taste! I added some more plain hot water to my serving. It tasted delicious after that. Next time I'll cut the rum down to 1 1/2 cups. I also melted the butter before putting it in my crock pot. I think it helped with it blending in. I didn't have it floating on top like some have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was awesome. So warm and soothing! Next time I would use a little less sugar, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Perfect! Everybody loved it. I had to make a second batch! Very easy with the crockpot. I just put styrofoam cups, a marker to write the names on the cups and the can of whipped cream next to it. A new family tradition is born. Thank you Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious! Not strong tasting but I could feel the booze after my first mug :) Tastes like a spice cake or something, the whipped cream is an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Takes a bit of finesse, but always seems to be a crowd pleaser. Super rich, so keep the servings kinda small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! This was great! I only added 1 1/4 cup of rum and thought that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Extremely rich. Like drinking a butterscotch candy. Definately a dessert drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is SO GOOD! I made this for my New Years Day party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! However I had to make a few adjustments to what I had on hand. My crockpots were occupied so I had to make it on the stove. I melted the butter over med High heat added the brown sugar and 3 tsp ground cinnamon (I didn't have any sticks)and mixed well( like when making cookies) added the water, I used 2 tsp all spice( Didn't have cloves) added the pinch of salt. brought this to a full boil, then lowered the heat to low, covered and LEFT IT ALONE FOR 3 HRS. right before serving I turned the heat OFF added the rum( I used Captian morgans spiced rum) served in mugs and topped with whipped cream! will make this many more times this winter and every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
OMG! This is the most amazing drink ever! I read through all the reviews and followed the directions. I did cook on high for one hour and then let it simmer for about 6 -7 hours before everyone was ready for their dessert. This will become a winter party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good, But could only drink a small cup, It was pretty sweet. Will make again for holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States