Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used Splenda brown sugar (caution: read the label and only use half; it's concentrated!) and I also used Light apple juice from Walmart Supercenter. I used Reddi Whip extra creamy whipped cream from the can and sprinkled nutmeg on top. I love things that are sweet, but please notice that many of the reviews say "it was so sweet." Even though I used "light" apple juice and Splenda, I must agree, I would cut the brown sugar down to only 1 cup or 1-1/2 at the very most. Y'all this stuff is wonderful but TOO SWEET. I added a stick of unsalted butter (no margarine for me!) and I added 1/2 cup of Butter Schnapps for a smooth flavor. I will make again for an upcoming Christmas Carol Hayride, but I will cut the brown sugar. Everything else was good, and I loved using my slow cooker and making my house smell wonderful. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy to make and serve. I served it with Thanksgiving dessert and received a ton of compliments. Since I do not keep whole cloves on hand, I just emptied out a teabag and put 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves in the empty teabag. I then put the teabag in the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients. (I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon allspice to the teabag.) I love vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of that to the water mixture. These additions mingle well with the original recipe, especially if you love holidy spices like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Fabulous, a new Thanksgiving favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Perfect for the holidays! It was a little too strong. Next time I make it I'll only add 1 to 1 1/4 C rum at the most. The butter does form a disturbing layer on the top of the drink, but I just blotted the top of the drinks w/a paper towel before adding the whipped cream. If you hold the paper towel there for a minute it will absorb most of it. Will definately make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This tasted good but my sister inlaws and I had a hard time finishing them because you could see all the butter floating at the top of your glass. I think I'll make hot chocolate or spiced cider next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was so so good! Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as the recipe states. Thank you for my new holiday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
How can anything with butter in it be bad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
It tastes like a warm cinnamon roll. I used less rum and it came out perfect. I thought 2 cups was a little much. So I used one instead and it was awesome. We made this last year and we will be making it this year too. A new family tradition to have it while having appetizers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Had this for a Halloween Weenie Roast last night and it was wonderful. Got rave reviews from all. I followed the recipe exactly. It is sweet, and buttery...and all things cinnamon roll-ish. Will serve again this weekend (by request) for a Knitting Party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this drink for our pumpkin carving party and it was VERY delicious. I followed the directions exactly except I didn't put the nutmeg on top-I just skipped it altogether. Be warned though, this tastes so good it can be quite lethal 2 drinks later when it sneaks up on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States