Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe! I melted the butter and mixed it with the brown sugar before adding the rest of the ingredients. I had no problem with the oily film other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe! I made it for NYE & everyone loved it, quite a hit! Easy too, just throw everything in a crockpot, forget about it and when its time to serve its ready to go. Also good if refigerated & reheated (the entire batch of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely delish! I made Xmas eve to go along with dessert. Although recipe did had weird skin that needed to be fished out... I made with splenda brown sugar, bacardi and light cool whip to make it a little less damaging to waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Instead of doing this in the slow cooker, I just heated it up on the stove and then let it simmer on low. We didn't drink it all in one night, but it kept well for a few days. All you had to do was re-heat it. It was a tiny bit of an acquired taste for me, but now I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
All I can say is WOW! Loved this! I made this for New Years Day in my crock pot and couldn't stop drinking this! It is very rich, which is what you'd expect from such a drink. I cooked mine on on high for about 2-2.5 hours and it was perfect. The butter was melted and simply glistened on the top. The only changes I made was the cooking time/heat (as noted) and I added one extra whole clove and an extra cinnamon stick (b/c I had the short ones on hand). I also added Captain Morgan Spiced Rum which I would definitely use again. Be careful not to add the rum until the last minute otherwise the alcohol will cook off. I did serve it with whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg and it was delicious! I stored my leftovers in a pitcher in the fridge and warmed each glass in the microwave for about 30 seconds the next day and although the alcohol was weak by then, the flavor was all still there. I will definitely make this again for a winter party! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for new years eve and it turned out wonderfully. I added the captains to each glass instead of in the crockpot so that it wouldn't turn out too strong. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and it was great, there is butter in the drink obviously but it's not gross and slimey like some reviewers say. I also liked how sweet it was, it was perfect for my family, I guess we have a sweet tooth. I will make this again next year around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Will cut back on sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
WOW! I just did a test run of this before I serve it on Christmas day. I did a 1/2 recipe, except I only used 1/4 of rum. I also used a stove top pan for speed and kept it just below a simmer for 2 hours. I used spiced rum since it's all I had. I can't wait to put it in the crockpot tomorrow- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
THE BEST! I had lots of requests for the recipe. I add my rum individually in the mug instead of the crock pot. That way everyone can have a glass - kids and adults. Absolutely awesome. I did add an extra quart of water to lessen the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
We tried this tonight and it was good, but way too sweet. Next time we'll cut the sugar in half. Tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States