Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TheGriffinz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh' My !!! .... This will forever be a traditional drink for the holidays in our family. I was under the impression that this was made on the stove. When I discovered that this was a slow cooker drink, I panicked with only 2 hours away from company arriving. I decided to start out the batch on the stove and brought to a boil, then simmered for approx. 15 minutes. I then placed the batch in the slow cooker and placed on high for 2.5 hours. This was PERFECT !! ... I also agree, if anyone has butter floating on the top..... IT'S NOT READY ... Keep simmering until the butter is not floating on top. KEEP THAT LID ON, and let it cook !! ... Thank You Linda Correia for this outstanding recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGriffinz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this last year for a holiday party & everyone loved it--I'm so glad it's still here, I've been sick for 3 days & nothing sounds good--except for this! Scaling it down to 4 servings & will share with my husband (of course) and praying for a good, deep sleep! Thank you Linda for posting the recipe and the helpful comments as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for my christmas party last year , I thought it was great and now it has hit our favorite holiday recipe list. Thank you so much. Rev.R.Davis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert D.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It's sweet, but good! We drank this all morning on Christmas Day - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this over the holidays and it was a hit. I do think next time I will cut down on the brown sugar since it seemed a bit to sweet. I put the bottle rum on the side and let everyone add their desired amount. With a dollop of redi whip and a sprinkle of nutmeg this was the perfect holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great recipe, especially on a cold day. It really does taste like a liquid cinammon roll with a kick. Follow the advice to get the crock pot very hot to ensure the butter melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe! I melted the butter and mixed it with the brown sugar before adding the rest of the ingredients. I had no problem with the oily film other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe! I made it for NYE & everyone loved it, quite a hit! Easy too, just throw everything in a crockpot, forget about it and when its time to serve its ready to go. Also good if refigerated & reheated (the entire batch of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely delish! I made Xmas eve to go along with dessert. Although recipe did had weird skin that needed to be fished out... I made with splenda brown sugar, bacardi and light cool whip to make it a little less damaging to waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Instead of doing this in the slow cooker, I just heated it up on the stove and then let it simmer on low. We didn't drink it all in one night, but it kept well for a few days. All you had to do was re-heat it. It was a tiny bit of an acquired taste for me, but now I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States