Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
THIS IS OVER THE TOP DELECIOUS.WE PUT THE RUM IN INDIVIDUAL CUPS SO THAT PEOPLE COULD DECIDE HOW MUCH OR LITTLE THEY WANTED.ONLY WARNING...THIS COULD BE ADDICTIVE IT IS SO GOOD.I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH THE AMOUNT OF BUTTER.I GUESS BECAUSE I LET IT GET REALLY HOT FOR A WHILE BEFORE I LET IT SIMMER.MADE THIS FOR A CHRISTMAS PARTY.WILL MAKE IT FOR A NEWS YEARS PARTY ALSO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very, very, very good holiday drink. I put everything but the rum in a crockpot on warm for 10-12 hours(really just let it sat on warm for the whole weekend) and then added rum to each serving/taste. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was pretty good, but a bit sweet. My husband said that it left a coating on his tongue from the butter. I think the next time I make it, I will only use 1-1 1/2 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years now and it is such a hit I get in trouble if I don't make it! I love this recipe and will continue to use it for all my holiday gatherings! Thank you so much for posting such a treat of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wooh man! This was VERY VERY strong for my taste! I added some more plain hot water to my serving. It tasted delicious after that. Next time I'll cut the rum down to 1 1/2 cups. I also melted the butter before putting it in my crock pot. I think it helped with it blending in. I didn't have it floating on top like some have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was awesome. So warm and soothing! Next time I would use a little less sugar, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Perfect! Everybody loved it. I had to make a second batch! Very easy with the crockpot. I just put styrofoam cups, a marker to write the names on the cups and the can of whipped cream next to it. A new family tradition is born. Thank you Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious! Not strong tasting but I could feel the booze after my first mug :) Tastes like a spice cake or something, the whipped cream is an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Takes a bit of finesse, but always seems to be a crowd pleaser. Super rich, so keep the servings kinda small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! This was great! I only added 1 1/4 cup of rum and thought that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States