Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just made this today for a Christmas Eve treat with my husband! I ended up leaving in the crock pot for about 8 hours on low because we waited for the kids to go to bed to enjoy it. It was wonderful and it tastes like Christmas in a glass. It sure took the pain out of wrapping presents. I made it exactly like the recipe... but there are a few things I would do differently next time. I used the spiced rum a few people recommended.. but I thought this was a little too much spice flavor next time I will use a gold rum for a lighter taste. I also got lazy and used cool whip. This was TOO SWEET! Next time I will be whipping my own cream. It was a keeper recipe.. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCDutcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I do this stovetop because I am impatient. Make this annually for our town Christmas parade. Definite crowd pleaser. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty but a little too buttery, even after 6 hours in the slow cooker. The leftovers went in the fridge in a jar, and a hard layer of butter re-formed at the top - once that was scraped off (and re-used in cookies), it was much better! Would use at least 1/3 less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty. Followed directions exactly but halved it. Not big on strong drinks and this was just right. Very flavorful without being too overwhelming. Was able to put in container and place in fridge and have over next few days. Tasted like Christmas in a cup :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too yummy for words! Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA RENEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Howe, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful - made it twice for Christmas parties and was a huge hit both times. I used Bacardi Gold and everyone loved it. I will have have to double the recipe for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was delicious. I added a little more butter. Everyone said it tasted like an adult sugar cookie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was easy to make and it came out very well, except it was notably quite salty, much saltier than I'm used to hot buttered rum being. I think next time I'd leave out the extra salt or try unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Niles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yum! I used lots of nutmeg...I think it made the drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and then again for Christmas and New Years. My family has not stopped talking about it all year. In fact I think it may be the most anticipated item on the menu this year! The real whip cream and nutmeg on top make this drink over the top special. Don't change a thing. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States