Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was a HIT at my sisters Christmas party. I did make the mistake of not having cinnamon sticks, so did a few good shakes of ground cinnamon. BIG mistake. I ended up with cinnamon floating at the top of the crock. I just let it simmer, then poured it through a strainer to remove that residue and it was awesome. Then I got some cinnamon sticks for when I make this again on Christmas Eve for the family. It was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Excellent. A Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a wonderful holiday drink. It is very sweet and stong, but a great after dinner drink. I think it is a much easier recipe to prepare and forget about since it's cooked in the crock-pot. It is our new Christmas tradition...all of the adults have a mug full, while the kids open and play with their new gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Great hot drink, served for Thanksgiving and was a hit! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Ugh. I thought this was terrible. Tasted like medicine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Made this at Christmas and it was a smash! Even my brother drank it! ::smile::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATANAROGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
We enjoyed this very much on Christmas day. It's very strong (at least for me!) so the whipped cream really made the drink for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Not a big hit at our home. It is extremely sweet and had a wonderful aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
UPDATE: For those of you who think there is too much butter, you really MUST stir it well before serving into each cup, then add the rum and top with whipping cream and freshly ground nutmeg. There is nothing better! The butter really gives it its rich taste. One more thing, use dark rum. Made this for a party I had on Christmas Eve. Everyone raved. I doubled the recipe and added the rum to cups before topping it with this. The whipping cream and freshly ground nutmeg really made it. I think this has become a new traditional winter drink for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Very yummy! Perfect after a delicious dinner with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States