Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this for a BBQ this past wknd & it was a major hit! Considering we were outside most of the cool night, I had a feeling it would go over well. I did use whip cream on top & I also sprinkled cinnamon & nutmeg on top of that ... it was delish. I did not make any changes to the recipe. I left it on low for 6 hours & it cooked up great. I would highly recommend cooking the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This awesome! Used it twice over the holidays and everybody raved about it. It smells up the house wonderfully and you can go look at Christmas lights or whatever, comeback & it's ready to warm up all your guests. Very smooth, great nightcap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
It will warm you up when it cold outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Perfect! We usually start drinking it as soon as the butter and sugar is melted. We used spiced rum - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I followed this recipient to the letter, gave it plenty of time to cook in the crock pot. The overall taste was good, but it has far too much butter. After four hours, the butter separated and the result was a greasy, rummy batch that no one wanted to drink. I was in the middle of cooking a family dinner and although I checked on it throughout the day it was just a flop. I'm sorry to say we won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharrlamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is my first time making hot buttered rum, and maybe I'm just not a fan. I thought it was way too sweet and couldn't taste any butter. It tasted like hot sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
UPDATE: (Since I can't delete or add to my last review). I used spice rum and salted butter with no extra salt. I also made it on the stove instead of the crock pot. I added everything listed above the rum and brought to a boil til the butter melted then allowed to simmer til desired level of taste then added the rum per cup and a splash of heavy cream as I didn't want to make or have whipped cream on hand or any vanilla ice cream. Other then those slight changes I made this recipe. Next time i may add a vanilla bean and possibly some whole all spice as well. It does make the house smell great while it's cooking and this is tasty as stated but you do have to stir to keep butter mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States