Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Perfect! We usually start drinking it as soon as the butter and sugar is melted. We used spiced rum - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I followed this recipient to the letter, gave it plenty of time to cook in the crock pot. The overall taste was good, but it has far too much butter. After four hours, the butter separated and the result was a greasy, rummy batch that no one wanted to drink. I was in the middle of cooking a family dinner and although I checked on it throughout the day it was just a flop. I'm sorry to say we won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharrlamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is my first time making hot buttered rum, and maybe I'm just not a fan. I thought it was way too sweet and couldn't taste any butter. It tasted like hot sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
UPDATE: (Since I can't delete or add to my last review). I used spice rum and salted butter with no extra salt. I also made it on the stove instead of the crock pot. I added everything listed above the rum and brought to a boil til the butter melted then allowed to simmer til desired level of taste then added the rum per cup and a splash of heavy cream as I didn't want to make or have whipped cream on hand or any vanilla ice cream. Other then those slight changes I made this recipe. Next time i may add a vanilla bean and possibly some whole all spice as well. It does make the house smell great while it's cooking and this is tasty as stated but you do have to stir to keep butter mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious and super easy to make. I dialed down the recipe for just a couple servings, but still amazing. Whipped cream on top is a must and if you can try bundling the cinnamon and cloves in some cheese cloth (it will make it much easier to remove later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful! Very rich, but terrific flavor. It's Christmas. Splurge a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made this several times over the years. Follow the directions and you won't go wrong. A holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Love love love! I halved the recipe and used low fat (50%) generic butter. Also used a couple sprinkles of cinnamon and allspice instead of cloves. Great hot beverage for our tree trimming festivities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Another big hit at my house. I've served this every year for our Cookies and Cocoa party at Christmas time. The kids LOVE the "Fluffy Hot Cocoa" (see my review), but the adults come for the Colonial Hot Buttered Rum. My only problem is making enough, it goes FAST and each year, more people come to try "The Gopal's Buttered Rum".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.MomRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States