Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
All I can say is WOW! Loved this! I made this for New Years Day in my crock pot and couldn't stop drinking this! It is very rich, which is what you'd expect from such a drink. I cooked mine on on high for about 2-2.5 hours and it was perfect. The butter was melted and simply glistened on the top. The only changes I made was the cooking time/heat (as noted) and I added one extra whole clove and an extra cinnamon stick (b/c I had the short ones on hand). I also added Captain Morgan Spiced Rum which I would definitely use again. Be careful not to add the rum until the last minute otherwise the alcohol will cook off. I did serve it with whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg and it was delicious! I stored my leftovers in a pitcher in the fridge and warmed each glass in the microwave for about 30 seconds the next day and although the alcohol was weak by then, the flavor was all still there. I will definitely make this again for a winter party! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for new years eve and it turned out wonderfully. I added the captains to each glass instead of in the crockpot so that it wouldn't turn out too strong. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and it was great, there is butter in the drink obviously but it's not gross and slimey like some reviewers say. I also liked how sweet it was, it was perfect for my family, I guess we have a sweet tooth. I will make this again next year around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Will cut back on sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
WOW! I just did a test run of this before I serve it on Christmas day. I did a 1/2 recipe, except I only used 1/4 of rum. I also used a stove top pan for speed and kept it just below a simmer for 2 hours. I used spiced rum since it's all I had. I can't wait to put it in the crockpot tomorrow- YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
THE BEST! I had lots of requests for the recipe. I add my rum individually in the mug instead of the crock pot. That way everyone can have a glass - kids and adults. Absolutely awesome. I did add an extra quart of water to lessen the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
We tried this tonight and it was good, but way too sweet. Next time we'll cut the sugar in half. Tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
i made this and it smelled delicous all day, but when the time came and we actually had some, it was kinda mediciny tasting and the butter as other have said, floated to the top and made my lips feel all weird. It was very unpleasing. And It Wasnt because my crock pot wasn't hot enough because i had it simmering for 12 hours. I will not make this again, i made it, me and my hubby took 2 sips, and threw it out and ended up have rum and coke instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very good! I actually added the spices in ground form and no one complained...in fact, everyone asked for seconds! Thanks, this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made this on Halloween because we were going to be sitting outside around a fire and I wanted a warm cocktail.It was awesome.I followed it exactly and made a huge crockpot of it.At first I thought I made way too much and would have leftovers, but erverybody kept refilling their mugs and saying they loved it.Not for the calorie conscious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Great flavor, but far too sweet for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States