Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years now and it is such a hit I get in trouble if I don't make it! I love this recipe and will continue to use it for all my holiday gatherings! Thank you so much for posting such a treat of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wooh man! This was VERY VERY strong for my taste! I added some more plain hot water to my serving. It tasted delicious after that. Next time I'll cut the rum down to 1 1/2 cups. I also melted the butter before putting it in my crock pot. I think it helped with it blending in. I didn't have it floating on top like some have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was awesome. So warm and soothing! Next time I would use a little less sugar, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Perfect! Everybody loved it. I had to make a second batch! Very easy with the crockpot. I just put styrofoam cups, a marker to write the names on the cups and the can of whipped cream next to it. A new family tradition is born. Thank you Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yorkville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Delicious! Not strong tasting but I could feel the booze after my first mug :) Tastes like a spice cake or something, the whipped cream is an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Takes a bit of finesse, but always seems to be a crowd pleaser. Super rich, so keep the servings kinda small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! This was great! I only added 1 1/4 cup of rum and thought that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Extremely rich. Like drinking a butterscotch candy. Definately a dessert drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is SO GOOD! I made this for my New Years Day party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! However I had to make a few adjustments to what I had on hand. My crockpots were occupied so I had to make it on the stove. I melted the butter over med High heat added the brown sugar and 3 tsp ground cinnamon (I didn't have any sticks)and mixed well( like when making cookies) added the water, I used 2 tsp all spice( Didn't have cloves) added the pinch of salt. brought this to a full boil, then lowered the heat to low, covered and LEFT IT ALONE FOR 3 HRS. right before serving I turned the heat OFF added the rum( I used Captian morgans spiced rum) served in mugs and topped with whipped cream! will make this many more times this winter and every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
OMG! This is the most amazing drink ever! I read through all the reviews and followed the directions. I did cook on high for one hour and then let it simmer for about 6 -7 hours before everyone was ready for their dessert. This will become a winter party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States