Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe MADE my party! Everyone loved it.(Esp. the men for some reason!) I added a bit of apple cider in the amount of the water that was called for. To keep it manageable for the night, I bought a hot beverage "pump" coffee urn from Sam's, filled it up with the prepared hot buttered part and then added the rum right into the container. It was like heaven in a glass and stayed hot all evening that way!! I will make this for every holiday party I have now. Heck, I might just have a party so I can make it again! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Easy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I've made this for 2 Christmases now and it's delicious. I add the rum individually as I found it too strong when I added the instructed amount. It's good without the rum too for the non-drinkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent, easy to make and really yummy! Did not have whole cloves so replaced with 1.5 rounded tsp of ground allspice for 12 servings. Also used extra dark rum, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just made this today for a Christmas Eve treat with my husband! I ended up leaving in the crock pot for about 8 hours on low because we waited for the kids to go to bed to enjoy it. It was wonderful and it tastes like Christmas in a glass. It sure took the pain out of wrapping presents. I made it exactly like the recipe... but there are a few things I would do differently next time. I used the spiced rum a few people recommended.. but I thought this was a little too much spice flavor next time I will use a gold rum for a lighter taste. I also got lazy and used cool whip. This was TOO SWEET! Next time I will be whipping my own cream. It was a keeper recipe.. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCDutcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I do this stovetop because I am impatient. Make this annually for our town Christmas parade. Definite crowd pleaser. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty but a little too buttery, even after 6 hours in the slow cooker. The leftovers went in the fridge in a jar, and a hard layer of butter re-formed at the top - once that was scraped off (and re-used in cookies), it was much better! Would use at least 1/3 less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty. Followed directions exactly but halved it. Not big on strong drinks and this was just right. Very flavorful without being too overwhelming. Was able to put in container and place in fridge and have over next few days. Tasted like Christmas in a cup :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too yummy for words! Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA RENEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Howe, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful - made it twice for Christmas parties and was a huge hit both times. I used Bacardi Gold and everyone loved it. I will have have to double the recipe for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States