Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used Splenda brown sugar (caution: read the label and only use half; it's concentrated!) and I also used Light apple juice from Walmart Supercenter. I used Reddi Whip extra creamy whipped cream from the can and sprinkled nutmeg on top. I love things that are sweet, but please notice that many of the reviews say "it was so sweet." Even though I used "light" apple juice and Splenda, I must agree, I would cut the brown sugar down to only 1 cup or 1-1/2 at the very most. Y'all this stuff is wonderful but TOO SWEET. I added a stick of unsalted butter (no margarine for me!) and I added 1/2 cup of Butter Schnapps for a smooth flavor. I will make again for an upcoming Christmas Carol Hayride, but I will cut the brown sugar. Everything else was good, and I loved using my slow cooker and making my house smell wonderful. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy to make and serve. I served it with Thanksgiving dessert and received a ton of compliments. Since I do not keep whole cloves on hand, I just emptied out a teabag and put 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves in the empty teabag. I then put the teabag in the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients. (I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon allspice to the teabag.) I love vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of that to the water mixture. These additions mingle well with the original recipe, especially if you love holidy spices like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Fabulous, a new Thanksgiving favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Perfect for the holidays! It was a little too strong. Next time I make it I'll only add 1 to 1 1/4 C rum at the most. The butter does form a disturbing layer on the top of the drink, but I just blotted the top of the drinks w/a paper towel before adding the whipped cream. If you hold the paper towel there for a minute it will absorb most of it. Will definately make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This tasted good but my sister inlaws and I had a hard time finishing them because you could see all the butter floating at the top of your glass. I think I'll make hot chocolate or spiced cider next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was so so good! Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as the recipe states. Thank you for my new holiday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
How can anything with butter in it be bad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
It tastes like a warm cinnamon roll. I used less rum and it came out perfect. I thought 2 cups was a little much. So I used one instead and it was awesome. We made this last year and we will be making it this year too. A new family tradition to have it while having appetizers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Had this for a Halloween Weenie Roast last night and it was wonderful. Got rave reviews from all. I followed the recipe exactly. It is sweet, and buttery...and all things cinnamon roll-ish. Will serve again this weekend (by request) for a Knitting Party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this drink for our pumpkin carving party and it was VERY delicious. I followed the directions exactly except I didn't put the nutmeg on top-I just skipped it altogether. Be warned though, this tastes so good it can be quite lethal 2 drinks later when it sneaks up on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States