Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Delicious! I was looking for something without yeast, since my toddler is sensitive to that. She loved it and so did I! I halved the recipe, used powdered buttermilk, and added 1 cup chopped raisins. Lightly sweet, very flavorful, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRITZ1976
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is a very simple bread to make, with very nice results! ps - I substituted sour milk for buttermilk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
makes a tasty bread. Ideal to serve with a meal. Not a sandwich bread. Really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I made it last night and it came out great! My family looked at me after the first bite and said "It's a keeper!" It definitely is. This is probably one of the easiest breads I've ever made and I'm very happy with the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I made this to bring to a Presidents' Day dinner party, and everybody loved it. I couldn't believe how good it was, considering there's no kneading or rising or anything. I may never make whole wheat yeast bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Great recipe! To make it more moist, I like to substitute half a cup or more of molasses for half a cup of brown sugar. Usually we have it with baked beans, but if we're having it for tea or for breakfast, I add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Just took this out of the oven a few minutes ago and we have eaten half of it already (but I have 7 children to feed).... just caught my 2 year old sharing with her 6 month old sister. I have been on the lookout for a new way to use my wheat and this is a perfect bread for anytime of day: breakfast, snack or dinner. Instead of buttermilk, I substituted sour milk (add 1Tb vineagar for each cup of milk) . I might use just 3/4C brown sugar next time and add some chopped dates or raisins. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
One of my absolute favorite recipes. But I suggest using full fat buttermilk. Low fat versions tend to make a drier bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was really great, even with all my substitutions. I used reconsituted powdered skim milk with lemon juice for the buttermilk, half ground oatmeal in place of the whole wheat flour because I didn't have enough, and I added some dried fruit and nuts. It was very moist out of the oven, and just as good the next morning. I think the oatmeal really helped keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
my teenage son and his two friends and my two younger kids all loved this bread with butter and cherry jelly on top. they ate one whole loaf the first night. i also loved it but am not getting any help with the leftover second loaf I think I will halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States