Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is the best bread in the world and so versatile. I have made it with all wheat flour when I ran out of all-purpose. I have used sugar substitute for my diabetic mom. I have added oats, wheat germ, flax seed, grape nuts, and walnuts and raisin to make a breakfast bread. We bake this daily and use it for everything. We make sandwiches with it, toast it,or eat it plain. It is great sliced thick with soup, chowder, or stew. One of our favorite things to do is to roast it in the oven with garlic butter for a side with pasta, then we cut the left overs up into cubes, roast them again and use them in meatloaf or stuffing or on salads. I don't eat butter so i like to toast or roast this bread and then dip it in seasoned olive oil. Yumm! It is addicting. Not only is this bread delicious but it is sooo easy to whip up. No one in my family thinks twice about it. Everyone over the age of 10 has the recipe memorized. I take this to any meal I go to and have given this recipe out at least a dozen times. Thank you for a delicious, easy, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Buttermilk is hard to come by sometimes....especially when a recipie calls for it. I substituted 1 cup buttermilk for 1 tbsp of white vinigar and then adding milk to equal 1 cup. I did this four times. My grandmother offered the substitute, she says homoginized milk is the best to use when substituting, I only had skim and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Great recipe! To make it more moist, I like to substitute half a cup or more of molasses for half a cup of brown sugar. Usually we have it with baked beans, but if we're having it for tea or for breakfast, I add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I read all the reviews before making this. Everyone enjoyed it smothered in butter, but there was an aftertaste of baking soda, if you just ate the bread alone. I'm thinking of adding spices (cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg) next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was very tasty. I made no changes to the recipe. (Isn't it nice when no changes are necessary?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Just took this out of the oven a few minutes ago and we have eaten half of it already (but I have 7 children to feed).... just caught my 2 year old sharing with her 6 month old sister. I have been on the lookout for a new way to use my wheat and this is a perfect bread for anytime of day: breakfast, snack or dinner. Instead of buttermilk, I substituted sour milk (add 1Tb vineagar for each cup of milk) . I might use just 3/4C brown sugar next time and add some chopped dates or raisins. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I made it last night and it came out great! My family looked at me after the first bite and said "It's a keeper!" It definitely is. This is probably one of the easiest breads I've ever made and I'm very happy with the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Really, really good. Followed the recipe exactly and while it's rather dense (but so is banana or other quick breads) this had a healthy yet sweet taste that my whole family liked. This bread is a cross between a whole wheat bread and a sweet bread. It was quick and easy to make. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
makes a tasty bread. Ideal to serve with a meal. Not a sandwich bread. Really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I am allergic to yeast, so I have been trying recipes for a bread that I can eat but also that my family likes. This is the best so far. I only had one loaf pan, so I halved the recipe. I can't have buttermilk so I used 2% with a tablespoon of lemon juice for each cup and let it sit for a while. Baked at 350* for 45 min.s not 1 hour. It turned out perfectly. It is a recipe that could be changed by the amount of sugar and spices added. I think I will try it with nuts and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States