Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
makes a tasty bread. Ideal to serve with a meal. Not a sandwich bread. Really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I made it last night and it came out great! My family looked at me after the first bite and said "It's a keeper!" It definitely is. This is probably one of the easiest breads I've ever made and I'm very happy with the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I made this to bring to a Presidents' Day dinner party, and everybody loved it. I couldn't believe how good it was, considering there's no kneading or rising or anything. I may never make whole wheat yeast bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This was okay. Was a nice quick bread but not alot of flavor. Baked in less than 1 hour. About 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This bread was good, very filling. The dough seemed pretty dry, so I added some honey and golden raisins to a second loaf and it turned out even better that the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Buttermilk is hard to come by sometimes....especially when a recipie calls for it. I substituted 1 cup buttermilk for 1 tbsp of white vinigar and then adding milk to equal 1 cup. I did this four times. My grandmother offered the substitute, she says homoginized milk is the best to use when substituting, I only had skim and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Great recipe! To make it more moist, I like to substitute half a cup or more of molasses for half a cup of brown sugar. Usually we have it with baked beans, but if we're having it for tea or for breakfast, I add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRITZ1976
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is a very simple bread to make, with very nice results! ps - I substituted sour milk for buttermilk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Delicious! I was looking for something without yeast, since my toddler is sensitive to that. She loved it and so did I! I halved the recipe, used powdered buttermilk, and added 1 cup chopped raisins. Lightly sweet, very flavorful, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This bread was just OK. Something about the flavor just didn't seem right. It was a little better when eaten with herbed spreadable cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States