Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
makes a tasty bread. Ideal to serve with a meal. Not a sandwich bread. Really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I made it last night and it came out great! My family looked at me after the first bite and said "It's a keeper!" It definitely is. This is probably one of the easiest breads I've ever made and I'm very happy with the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I made this to bring to a Presidents' Day dinner party, and everybody loved it. I couldn't believe how good it was, considering there's no kneading or rising or anything. I may never make whole wheat yeast bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This was okay. Was a nice quick bread but not alot of flavor. Baked in less than 1 hour. About 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This bread was good, very filling. The dough seemed pretty dry, so I added some honey and golden raisins to a second loaf and it turned out even better that the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Buttermilk is hard to come by sometimes....especially when a recipie calls for it. I substituted 1 cup buttermilk for 1 tbsp of white vinigar and then adding milk to equal 1 cup. I did this four times. My grandmother offered the substitute, she says homoginized milk is the best to use when substituting, I only had skim and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Great recipe! To make it more moist, I like to substitute half a cup or more of molasses for half a cup of brown sugar. Usually we have it with baked beans, but if we're having it for tea or for breakfast, I add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRITZ1976
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is a very simple bread to make, with very nice results! ps - I substituted sour milk for buttermilk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Delicious! I was looking for something without yeast, since my toddler is sensitive to that. She loved it and so did I! I halved the recipe, used powdered buttermilk, and added 1 cup chopped raisins. Lightly sweet, very flavorful, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This bread was just OK. Something about the flavor just didn't seem right. It was a little better when eaten with herbed spreadable cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States