Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Very good. I added a cup of multi-grain oats and about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract, simply because we had them in the pantry and I was waiting for the oven to finish heating. I think the oats gave it a really good texture. I will definitely be making this bread again, and maybe experimenting a bit more with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Added 1/4 cu flaxseed and put half of the batter in mini loaf pans. The regular loaf cooked in 50 minutes and tasted good (as expected, rather plain). The mini-loafs were probably overcooked at 40 minutes and too crusty; I will make the recipe again but will not use mini-loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I needed a quick bread since I ran out of bread and did not want to wait for yeast to rise. Instead of the all purpose flour I used ground oatmeal to make it healthy. The texture and density is more like a muffin not bread and the flavor is okay. I will probably decrease the sugar and add dried fruit next time to make it even healthier. I also used the milk and vinegar since I did not have any buttermilk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
my teenage son and his two friends and my two younger kids all loved this bread with butter and cherry jelly on top. they ate one whole loaf the first night. i also loved it but am not getting any help with the leftover second loaf I think I will halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wow!!! I have never made a wheat bread without yeast before, and this recipe was really good!!! I made only one loaf, and I used dry milk mixed with water and lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. Thanks for the recipe! My family is enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was looking for a way to use up buttermilk I had sitting in the fridge. Simply a breakfast or snack bread. Good toasted with butter and jelly. Gets old after a while. If I'm going to have a sweet bread, I'd rather it have fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Really, really good. Followed the recipe exactly and while it's rather dense (but so is banana or other quick breads) this had a healthy yet sweet taste that my whole family liked. This bread is a cross between a whole wheat bread and a sweet bread. It was quick and easy to make. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Pretty good. Would have liked if it had risen a bit more. Toasting it made it completely bland, but fresh from the oven it was yummy. We did get a little sick of the flavor after a few days having it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was really great, even with all my substitutions. I used reconsituted powdered skim milk with lemon juice for the buttermilk, half ground oatmeal in place of the whole wheat flour because I didn't have enough, and I added some dried fruit and nuts. It was very moist out of the oven, and just as good the next morning. I think the oatmeal really helped keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very good bread and smelled wonderful while cooking. I did not have buttermilk so I did the milk with vinegar. The bread taste like it has molasses baked in without the bother. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States