Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I bake a lot of bread and this is would be one of my favorites even if it weren't so darned easy and quick. I took one person's advice and substituted 1/2 cup molasses for 1/2 cup of the brown sugar. It came out moist & beautifully textured. This is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very quick, easy & tasty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Just GREAT BREAD- I used the new (at least to me) white whole wheat flour and added 1 Tbls. of Molasses just to compensate for the baking soda taste others commented on -otherwise followed exactly as recipe is. So reminiscent of the Boston Brown Bread we had as kids without all the work. I can see adding raisins for the 2nd loaf for a breakfast treat Thanks so much for contributing this recipe- now gotta go and cut another piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good quick bread. Since it made two loaves, I followed the example of one of the other reviewers and made one loaf the way the recipe says, and added two chopped apples plus a teaspoon of cinnamon to the other loaf. Both turned out nicely (though I think I will need to add a little more cinnamon the next time I want to make the apple version). The apple version did eventually start to go bad, so I'll have to eat it more quickly next time! And if you make the regular brown bread, you absolutely must eat it with butter melted into the warm bread - it's very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Even without them, this bread reminds me so much of a date bread that my mother used to make when I was a kid. In fact, I think the next time I make this bread, I will reduce the brown sugar and add dates and raisins for a change of pace. An extremely easy recipe to make. When I was baking them, I thought the loaves were overdone after about 50 minutes, but the knife test told me they still had to bake more. Anyway, enough from me!!! A recipe I will definitely make again. Thanks to the contributor for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
What a fantastic bread. I had buttermilk to use up and this did just the trick. I halved everything due to the lack of that much buttermilk and I sure wish I had more. Will make again. Very quick and easy. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wayne gives it 3 stars but who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very easy to make and quite tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I'll be using this recipe alot! It just came out of the oven and it looks perfect and smells wonderful, like caramel. I made a single loaf to try. Used only unbleached flour. Had about 1 1/2 T. maple sugar to use up so put that in the bottom of my measuring cup and packed the rest of it with brown sugar. Everything else by the recipe. Baked in a pryex bread pan at 325*F. for 45 minutes and it came out just right! Looks like I really worked hard on it, but it was the easiest loaf I've ever made. Stirred with a spoon. Just know it will taste great too! Needs to cool some first, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxz
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars only because there is a slight baking soda aftertaste (which can be covered up nicely with butter!). Other than that the bread turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States