Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This bread is delicious! I halved the ingredients to make one loaf instead of two. The bread came out perfect. I sprinkled some oats on top before baking, and loved the taste and texture they added. I will be experimenting with this receipe - adding more whole wheat flour with oats in the batter...possibly adding walnut and apple chunks, too. This is an easy, versatile and delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Absolutely amazing and super easy!! The only tip I would suggest is sprinking the brown sugar in. I used packed brown sugar and found a clump baked into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I lovvvved this bread!! I went by the recipe but added raisins & a partial bag of left over walnuts. Since I only had a few left in the bag & didn't think it was enough I looked around my kitchen & found & used sunflower seeds & loved the nutty taste they gave the bread. I gave my neighbor a piece & he described it as "Awesome" as well as healthy! A really versatile recipe that I intend to keep experimenting with....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is a really great bread. The more I eat it, the more I like it. It has a wonderful sweet taste. Super simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Too baking soda-y for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creative_Riddle
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Excellent bread. I wanted a breakfast bread so I added 1/2 cup sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds, 1 Tbls. ground flaxseed, 1 Tbls. wheat germ, 1 bag dried blueberries, 2 cups wheat flour less 2 Tbls.., 1 teas. cinnamon, 1/2 teas. salt, 1 Tbls. molasses, 1 teas. vanilla, 1/2 cup brown sugar less 1 Tbls, 2 cups buttermilk (skim milk and 2 Tbls. vinegar). I let sit in the pan for 10 minutes then baked for 1 hour. Made 1 wonderful bread. The molasses adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Loved this bread. I made one loaf as written and I added vanilla, cinnamon and raisins to the second loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Love this recipe. For the steamed taste of traditional Brown Bread while the bread is still warm, I place it in a gallon size plastic bag to let it "steam". Family really loves it. You can double the sugar and add raisins, dates or nuts to make a healthier quick bread. Love the fact that it does not have eggs or any other fat because hubby needs to have recipes lower in fat. Many thanks for posting the recipe Annette!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was excellent! I made it exactly as the recipe shows and it was unbelievable. My family LOVED it! The texture was amazing. To all who are not big-time bread bakers - these did not take the full baking time - I had 6 minutes left of the hour on the timer - so make sure you are checking it towards the end. I think I will make this recipe again as a breakfast sweet-bread with raisins and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Awesome, moist, and my whole family loved it! Nest time, I am going to try using the Splenda brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States