Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I was not really impressd with this bread. It was heavy with dry crumb and very little taste. I'm not going to be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
So easy, moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Didn't like it. Quick and easy, but terrible texture,very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fast and easy to prepare, but the family wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This recipe is so versatile and easy. I make a loaf of bread and also use a small muffin tin. Great for a late morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
A fantastic bread. Dense and not at all too sweet; this is perfect with some butter and/or jam and a cuppa tea. (The bread is quite tasty on its own, too, without any type of spread.) Definitely not a sandwich bread, but a great bread for breakfast. I followed the recipe exactly and found that I pretty much needed the whole hour to bake the bread. The top gets pretty brown, though, so I did a few knife-tests to make sure I still had to let the middle set (I did). The best part about this recipe is that it was EASY to make the bread--no mixers, no taking butter out of the fridge an hour before to soften, no creaming of anything together. Just throw it all in a bowl and mix it up, then bake! Clean-up was a breeze, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Surprisingly good. Texture and taste was more like a muffin than a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
a bit too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was excellent. Followed directions exactly and loved the result. My wife, who ordinarily doesn't care much for bread, said it was the best bread she'd ever eaten. She's excitedly bringing the second loaf to our two year old's playgroup tomorrow for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samia Asaad
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great Recipe. I also used 1tbsp vinegar in each 1 cup of milk as a substitute for buttermilk and it turned out really well. Besides this I also added crushed almonds on the top that made it very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States