Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Fabulous simple brown bread recipe, works every time and kids love it. To make it more of an Irish soda bread, reduce the sugar to 1tsp, but we like it sweet! If you don't have buttermilk, just use lemon juice or vinegar (measure a tablespoon in a cup measure, fill with milk, repeat x4) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clonsilla, County Dublin, Ireland
Living In: Clonmel, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have to agree that this recipe calls for too much baking soda. You can taste it, and that shouldn't be. I'm going to try halving it next time. The good news is there *will* be a next time! I like the recipe enough to try it again. The substitutions I made are I used spelt flour instead of whole wheat, unsweetened vanilla almond milk instead of buttermilk, and Sucanat sugar instead of brown sugar. All of these substitutions worked! The bread rose nicely, and it was moist and yummy... except for that baking soda after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Loved the flexibility and speed of this bread. Needed a dinnertime bread and had forgotten to bake a proper loaf earlier in the day so this was an ideal substitute. Made 1 loaf per recipe - perfect for our chicken dinner (with butter). Made 2nd loaf with flax seed, vanilla, cinnamon and raisins to use for breakfast/healthy kids snack. Both turned out great. Easy to figure out sweet add-ins for breakfast type bread - hoping to find more savory add-ins for dinner bread even though it was good as described with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Easy and delicious - no rising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this recipe. My only fault with this bread is how addicting it is. It's good with sweet toppings (like jam) and just as good with savory. Simple to make and delicious to eat--my kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
followed recipe; however, used skim milk and lemon juice. Bread was dense, but it had a very odd, almost fishy odor. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was excellent, especially when warm and fresh. It's the easiest bread recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was easy and helped me use up some sour milk without needing to add butter and eggs, which was nice. It cooked well and was very sweet-good for eating by itself, but it doesn't really go with meals. Also, my husband complained that he could taste the bitter baking soda on the second day :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I use powdered buttermilk mix (found in the baking aisle), so I always have all the ingredients on hand. This is so fast and so yummy. And it's whole grain...a healthier option for a starch side at dinnertime. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I just put this recipe together and it is now in the oven. But I weighed my flour instead of using a measuring cup. I added two more cups of buttermilk to absorb all the dry flour mixture and covered the top of one loaf with brown sugar and the other with raisins and brown sugar. I hope it turns out! I'll let you know as soon as it is done. My question is, is this supposed to look like a tea bread batter at the end of mixing or a thick wet dough. Mine looked more like a thick wet dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States