Colombian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great side dish! I only wish I would have doubled the recipe so I could have leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I had to add more liquid as it cooked and I added chicken broth instead of water. My Colombian boyfriend said it was like his mother's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Love this dish! the cumin makes it great. I also added 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes, 3 cloves of garlic and a stalk of celery. Instead of regular tomatoes, I added cherry tomatoes. Red potatoes in the skin give this dish a little bit more bite. Really enjoyed this dish a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is very good. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding some minced garlic on the advice of another reviewer. I did have to add 1/2 cup more water when I added the potatoes, just like the other reviewers. I served it as a side dish, but I can see how it could make a great soup or be lovely served over rice as a meatless meal. I will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
My family loved this! I have made it several times but have changed the seasoning to give it a different flavor. Replacing water with chicken broth and cumin with thyme made for a tasty side dish with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was ok, but a bit bland. I found that I had to add a lot more water to it. I also added some garlic, some pepper and some chili sauce, and garnished with green onions. It was pretty decent, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I'm new to cooking lentils, and this looked intriguing. Noting that the author called this a "starter" recipe (she recommends modifying it to your own pleasure, yes?) I made the following changes: (a) Instead of the potatoes, I used 1/2 cup corn and 1/2 cup diced green bell pepper. (b) Like Kitchenwitch, I sauteed everything in the oil before adding the water. (c) I served the lentils over big steamy baked potatoes with a dollop of sour cream & chopped cilantro garnish. What a *wonderful* dish -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum!! Made no changes except for the addition of garlic, and it turned out great. I served it over quinoa for a healthy and comforting meal. For those who felt this recipe was bland or needed something, a squeeze of lemon juice is a nice touch. Thanks so much for sharing. I will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used to eat lentils in Spain but never knew how to make it their way... so I'm glad to have found this recipe :) Maybe they borrowed it from the Colombians. I did have to double the water for some reason, but I was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this last night and it was GREAT! Everyone loved it as a main dish served over rice. I added a few frozen green peas at the end and I also sauteed the lentils and potatoes with the onion and some garlic before adding the water. I also used curry powder for the seasoning, along with black pepper and sea salt. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States