Colombian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very Good!!!!! Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is just like Mama used to make when we were kids; the taste just brought back memories of this staple at our dinner table. My family loved it, it's healthy and it'll become a staple for our table as well. Put some arepas on the table and our dinner time will probably double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is very good. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding some minced garlic on the advice of another reviewer. I did have to add 1/2 cup more water when I added the potatoes, just like the other reviewers. I served it as a side dish, but I can see how it could make a great soup or be lovely served over rice as a meatless meal. I will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I didn't have a problem with the amount of water like some other reviewers. I did add 2 small diced carrots, just for more color. Flavor is really good. I will be making this again. I don't think I would change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Love this dish! the cumin makes it great. I also added 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes, 3 cloves of garlic and a stalk of celery. Instead of regular tomatoes, I added cherry tomatoes. Red potatoes in the skin give this dish a little bit more bite. Really enjoyed this dish a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I had to add more liquid as it cooked and I added chicken broth instead of water. My Colombian boyfriend said it was like his mother's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
One of my all-time favorites. Such good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
My family loved this! I have made it several times but have changed the seasoning to give it a different flavor. Replacing water with chicken broth and cumin with thyme made for a tasty side dish with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was ok, but a bit bland. I found that I had to add a lot more water to it. I also added some garlic, some pepper and some chili sauce, and garnished with green onions. It was pretty decent, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great side dish! I only wish I would have doubled the recipe so I could have leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States