Colombian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used to eat lentils in Spain but never knew how to make it their way... so I'm glad to have found this recipe :) Maybe they borrowed it from the Colombians. I did have to double the water for some reason, but I was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wonderful! I subbed cauliflower for the potatoes because I am avoiding starches. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB3267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
So yummy! And so easy to make! I didn't change a thing and I served it over rice. It's great as a meal in itself. My fiance and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I'm new to cooking lentils, and this looked intriguing. Noting that the author called this a "starter" recipe (she recommends modifying it to your own pleasure, yes?) I made the following changes: (a) Instead of the potatoes, I used 1/2 cup corn and 1/2 cup diced green bell pepper. (b) Like Kitchenwitch, I sauteed everything in the oil before adding the water. (c) I served the lentils over big steamy baked potatoes with a dollop of sour cream & chopped cilantro garnish. What a *wonderful* dish -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this last night and it was GREAT! Everyone loved it as a main dish served over rice. I added a few frozen green peas at the end and I also sauteed the lentils and potatoes with the onion and some garlic before adding the water. I also used curry powder for the seasoning, along with black pepper and sea salt. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
awesome recipe!! i added a cup of chicken broth when i added the potatoes but only cuz i doubled the recipe to make sure i had leftovers. i also added about two tbsp of minced garlic to the recipe due to some reviews. it came out delish, will have to do again but i might just do the amount asked because i had a lot of leftovers. the cumin is such a strong spice, i could smell it all over the house but it was awesome, i wouldn't trade it for anything else. thanks for the recipe caro!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Made this recipe this evening and was very pleased at the result! I would recommend that the potatoes be 1/2" cubes rather than just "cubed"....they were still a bit crunchy at the end of the cooking time. Otherwise, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum!! Made no changes except for the addition of garlic, and it turned out great. I served it over quinoa for a healthy and comforting meal. For those who felt this recipe was bland or needed something, a squeeze of lemon juice is a nice touch. Thanks so much for sharing. I will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Easy meal to make! I eliminated the salt and the oil. I cooked the potatoes at the same time as the lentils to make the dish quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
DELISH!! I didn't change a thing. The cumin really makes this tasty. I had plenty of water & a nice 'gravy." Served it over brown rice for a healthy meatless meal. Thanks caro0888 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States