Colombian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I now like lentils as much as meat! I used white potatoes and coriander and curry to substitute. I also included one yellow pepper and a pinch of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye-Andrea Arp
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
added corn and carrots, doubled the lentils and water, also added 2 cups chicken broth. Pretty good, healthy and tasty. Nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is just how I've learned to prepare it. I learned it from my grandmother when I was a small child. I also add garlic and green peppers and celery and mushrooms all finely chopped along with a touch of turmeric. I cook ground beef and add it as well, or whatever meat I have to make it more like a stew. Brings me back to my grandmothers kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laladivina
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I added more water. Changes I made: Added 1 small can of corn and 1 can of diced tomatoes (I was too lazy to chop a tomato lol); I used about 2 cups of water and added 1/2 cup of chicken broth to give the soup a little more flavor. I did not add additional salt the chicken broth already has sodium in it. I cooked everything in a 2 quart pot. Final result: Came out well but I think maybe it needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I took others' advice and used chicken broth in place of the water and added fresh garlic. Also topped with a dollop of sour cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this and find it quite hearty. I like to add a fried egg to the top, a vegetarian hash of sorts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is really good, but it is even better and more "Colombian" if you sautee some chorizo cut up in small pieces and add it to the "lentejas" YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is really good and simple to make. I took the advice from the other reviews and kept a close watch on the soup and added more water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJ4OSU
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We are currently on the Daniel Fast and this was a great recipe for a meal! I added garlic and also used a can of petite diced tomatoes and added some bell pepper since this was for a meal. I plan to make this again and experiment with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very tasty. With some changes, this is a 5 star recipe. It definitely needs more liquid and time to cook, if you don't want hard lentils and potatoes. I used 1 cup vegetable broth and 1 1/2 cups water, and added carrots, garlic, thyme and cayenne pepper. Next time, I might try this in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States