Colombian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty, but nothing too spectacular from any of the other lentil soups or stew I've made. The main thing setting this dish apart is the (IMO) large amount of fat added to it - which of course makes everything better! :) I don't think I'd make this again, as I have other favorite lentil dishes that have more flavor and less fat. But it was good to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was delicious served over rice with a little cheese and avocado. I did change it up a little though: I doubled the recipe used 2 1/2 cups of lentils, vegetable broth instead of water, canned diced tomatoes, only two teaspoons of cumin, a bunch of minced garlic, some cilantro, a teaspoon of paprika and coriander, a can of corn and used red potatoes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I now like lentils as much as meat! I used white potatoes and coriander and curry to substitute. I also included one yellow pepper and a pinch of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye-Andrea Arp
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
added corn and carrots, doubled the lentils and water, also added 2 cups chicken broth. Pretty good, healthy and tasty. Nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is just how I've learned to prepare it. I learned it from my grandmother when I was a small child. I also add garlic and green peppers and celery and mushrooms all finely chopped along with a touch of turmeric. I cook ground beef and add it as well, or whatever meat I have to make it more like a stew. Brings me back to my grandmothers kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laladivina
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I added more water. Changes I made: Added 1 small can of corn and 1 can of diced tomatoes (I was too lazy to chop a tomato lol); I used about 2 cups of water and added 1/2 cup of chicken broth to give the soup a little more flavor. I did not add additional salt the chicken broth already has sodium in it. I cooked everything in a 2 quart pot. Final result: Came out well but I think maybe it needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I took others' advice and used chicken broth in place of the water and added fresh garlic. Also topped with a dollop of sour cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this and find it quite hearty. I like to add a fried egg to the top, a vegetarian hash of sorts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is really good, but it is even better and more "Colombian" if you sautee some chorizo cut up in small pieces and add it to the "lentejas" YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is really good and simple to make. I took the advice from the other reviews and kept a close watch on the soup and added more water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States