Colombian Aji Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My Colombian friends fell in love with this recipe. They can't get enough of it. I made one change that they liked . I use a 1-1 blend of pasilla and jalapeno peppers. Gives a bit more flavor and a bit less heat. The final product needs to be on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
will make again with less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was great! I halved the recipe because it was just my husband and i. My husband is from Colombia and he loved it! He said the only difference from his mother's is that she puts something red in hers (tomatoes, peppers, who knows?). But we both loved it and had it with our skirt steak and tostones. It wasn't as spicy as you would think. If you enjoy some spiciness, you will love this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolyn13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Wonderful stuff - just like the green sauce at a South American restaurant we enjoy eating at. Not too hot if you remove the seeds and very easy to make. I left the seeds in once and it was too hot so we toned it down with some roasted tomatillos and poblano peppers and it was good with those additions too. But the recipe as written is definitely 5 stars in my book - only change I made was leaving out the water, as it was perfect consistency without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is better than the coloumbian restaurant I go to.I added minced garlic. My pepper plant froze so I didn't have any so I just used cayenne for spice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
pretty good sauce a lil strong on the lemon but its good! will be making it again definately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve2464

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I don't know what happened, but I didn't care for this. The spice was perfect (subbed 5 serranos for 10 jalapenos, since I had serranos on hand). I think the vinegar is what turns me off from the recipe, even though there isn't much of it. I think next time I'd decrease the amount of vinegar, but that's my own personal preference, not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was SO good! I made this for my Spanish group's holiday party and it was demolished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was a great with grilled steak. This was a nice alternative to salsa. And I didn't need to add any salt. it already had enough flavor to it. Recipe makes more of a party batch than a family batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
OMG! This is a fantastic recipe. The sauce has the same taste as the sauce my Columbian friends make. A great tomato- less salsa, if you are staying away from tomatoes this summer. Eat it with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States