Collins Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I make a variation of this all of the time! I do, however, do a few things different: - I use about a cup of milk, instead of cream cheese - I add at least 2 cups of sliced fresh mushrooms (cooked with the ground beef) - I use plenty of seasonings while cooking the beef ( garlic powder, seasoning salt, a little rosemary, black pepper - all to taste) - and I use several different types of pasta. Sometimes I use spaghetti, sometimes penne, scoobidoos, rotini, etc - depending on what we feel like. They are all wonderful. This is one of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The dish was fantastic and I will make again for sure. Not trying to be rude, but the dish can only be bland if its not seasoned properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was really an easy dish for a quick dinner. It was easy on the pocketbook to shop for too. I added S/P and some finely chopped onion which only made is more yummy. This is the kind of dish that will stick to your ribs. It is good served with a fresh salad or fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Tracy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
When the kids are 'starving', and you have maybe 10-15 minutes to get the food on the table before they riot; THIS is the recipe for you! serve with any kind of fruit and/or vegetable salad. I add a half bag of frozen mixed veggies, but do what ever you must do to make it your own. Thanks, Lilgirl, for reminding us that simple is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I followed the other suggestions and added onion and mushrooms. Browned them in a couple tsps of butter. Added a can of cream of mushroom w/a can of milk and cream cheese. I ended up using some frozen meatballs I had in the freezer and added some worshershier sauce. This is a keeper but I don't think it would have been good w/o the onion & mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is a bland recipe. While I'm not the best cook in the world, I'm decent... but I could not rescue this. If someone else has a good suggestion for how to improve this thing, PLEASE share. Even after adding onions and mushrooms sauteed in butter, along with Worcestershire sauce, rosemary/Italian seasoning, salt/pepper... it was not worth the effort. To quote my spouse, "It's not horrible... it's just kinda there." And my favorite review of all comes from my six-year-old son: "This is the boringest thing I've ever eaten."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Addition of the seasonings suggested for flavoring make it delicious (seasoned salt, garlic, rosemary, salt, and pepper). I add crushed garlic clove instead of garlic powder. To make this even a quicker meal, I ended up using a 16 oz. box of quick cooking pasta that cooks in 3 minutes if you are in a real pinch for time and it is still delicious. I usually use whole wheat pasta for a healthier meal for your family and it's still delicious. If your family loves mushrooms you've got to add it to the recipe, makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
We tried this last night and I was surprised by how well it was received by all my guys. I did make some changes though. I added minced yellow onion, green pepper, mushrooms and lots of garlic powder while the beef was browning. I only added one can of soup but almost 2 cups of milk because I added the uncooked pasta to the pan and needed the additional liquid for it to cook properly. I also added oregano, thyme, salt and pepper to the final 10 min. I think it would have been too bland for us without these additions but overall a very easy and tasty recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I made this tonight, my kids took one bite and exclaimed "mmmmm". That alone makes it worth 5 stars to me. I added some onion, garlic and seasonings while I browned the beef but otherwise made as directed. It made lots of sauce, I was even able to freeze some. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is man pleasing good and got raves from my husband. It was so easy to fix and pretty much all I had to do was open a couple of cans and stir once the meat was browned. Easy, fast, and it made my hubby rave so it's a winner! All I could taste was cream of mushroom soup but my family loved this so it will go into my "KEEP" file. Thanks for the yum yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States