Collins Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is a bland recipe. While I'm not the best cook in the world, I'm decent... but I could not rescue this. If someone else has a good suggestion for how to improve this thing, PLEASE share. Even after adding onions and mushrooms sauteed in butter, along with Worcestershire sauce, rosemary/Italian seasoning, salt/pepper... it was not worth the effort. To quote my spouse, "It's not horrible... it's just kinda there." And my favorite review of all comes from my six-year-old son: "This is the boringest thing I've ever eaten."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I followed the other suggestions and added onion and mushrooms. Browned them in a couple tsps of butter. Added a can of cream of mushroom w/a can of milk and cream cheese. I ended up using some frozen meatballs I had in the freezer and added some worshershier sauce. This is a keeper but I don't think it would have been good w/o the onion & mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Was bland even after seasoning with a variety of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
definatley needs salt and pepper. Something didn't seem right with the consistency of the sauce, after adding the noodles the sauce was too thick to bring to a simmer again and I used 1c milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
i used tomato soup instead of cream of mushroom because that's how my dad usually makes it but very tasty & easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was fast and easy... The kids loved it... It was too bland for me even with all the spices i added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very easy and quick. I added an onion to the ground beef and seasoned to my family's liking. To each their own for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
5 stars for quick. 5 stars for easy. 5 stars for tasty. 5 stars for cheap. Just 5, 5, 5 all the way around. I did add some s&p and little garlic powder. No need to go adding a bunch of other stuff. While it would be good I am sure, I was just trying to stretch the food budget and start making a few recipes without all the other stuff and see how much I can save. This dish cost somewhere around $9. Can't hardly beat that. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Addition of the seasonings suggested for flavoring make it delicious (seasoned salt, garlic, rosemary, salt, and pepper). I add crushed garlic clove instead of garlic powder. To make this even a quicker meal, I ended up using a 16 oz. box of quick cooking pasta that cooks in 3 minutes if you are in a real pinch for time and it is still delicious. I usually use whole wheat pasta for a healthier meal for your family and it's still delicious. If your family loves mushrooms you've got to add it to the recipe, makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The dish was fantastic and I will make again for sure. Not trying to be rude, but the dish can only be bland if its not seasoned properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States