College Student's Gourmet Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Quick, easy, easy to find ingredients. Great taste ... can't really ask for anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was just cooking for myself tonight and was planning on just eating buttered noodles, but I stumbled across this recipe when the noodles were boiling and opted to try it out! I used 4 ounces of bow tie pasta and added a bit over a cup of frozen corn (was finishing off the bag) right before the noodles were finished cooking. While they were draining in the colander I put 1 T leftover garlic butter (light margarine mixed with garlic powder and dried parsley), 1 T leftover white wine and 2 T milk in the pan I'd used to cook the noodles and let that simmer for a minute or so. Stirred in 1 T freshly grated parmesan (I have one of those little zester graters). Stirred the noodles and corn back into the sauce along with a healthy dose of pepper, poured it on a plate and grated another tablespoon of parmesan over it. It made quite a large plate of pasta (could someone seriously eat 8 ounces like the recipe says?) and was delicious! Better than plain buttered noodles and quite delicate. I don't think it was too unhealthy, either (the light margarine had 5 g fat, the parmesan had about 4, then whatever fat was in the noodles and corn). I really liked the corn with it, too. I will definitely make this in the future, thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
So simple, and just delicious. I made the following modifications. I did not have garlic salt, so I used garlic powder and added a bit of salt and pepper. I also doubled the parmesan and recommend using a good parmesan (not the green container stuff that has been sitting in your fridge). I only had skim milk on hand and it was fine, but next time I will use half n' half. This is so much easier then my usual alfredo and really just as good. I suggest tossing it with some tortellini and pairing with a green veggie and some kielbasa. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
absolutely delicious for what it is... a simple, relatively delicious and cheap recipe! i'm in college now and i live on this recipe. thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
gotta say, I lived off this in college too! Even works with the cheese from a green can, if necessary (it's cheaper). Throw in some cooked frozen broccoli to make your mom happy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was the first good recipe I've found that doesn't require much cheese. I used soy milk and a tablespoon of soy cream cheese instead of the parm due to dairy allergies. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Quick and easy. I had everything on hand. Best of all, the children loved it and ate 2-3 helpings. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family rates this recipe as 5 stars. I do recommend doubling the sauce for a pound of pasta. (We like to dip our bread in it;-D)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Good taste with few ingredients. We threw some chicken and Italian seasonings, and it made a wonderful pasta dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
If you add a little olive oil, it takes it over the top. I have been eating angel hair this way for years, but always add a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States