College Student's Gourmet Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This would be the recipe I lived on while pregnant. My daughter and I still eat pasta this way all the time. It is fast, simple and children love it. Experiment with the type of cheese you use. If you can find it, Myzithra cheese is the best. Keep in mind this recipe is designed for those that can't or don't cook. If you were looking for something to wow the taste buds and send you into convulsions of pasta pleasure, you probably need to try something a little more complicated. If you are looking for fast, simple, and easy go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Heather, this seriously is one of my favorite comfort foods. And like Taylor said, I prefer it with garlic powder and just a bit of catsup mixed in. And no, I didn't drink a whole bottle of peppermint schnaps; I believe it was bourbon. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was just cooking for myself tonight and was planning on just eating buttered noodles, but I stumbled across this recipe when the noodles were boiling and opted to try it out! I used 4 ounces of bow tie pasta and added a bit over a cup of frozen corn (was finishing off the bag) right before the noodles were finished cooking. While they were draining in the colander I put 1 T leftover garlic butter (light margarine mixed with garlic powder and dried parsley), 1 T leftover white wine and 2 T milk in the pan I'd used to cook the noodles and let that simmer for a minute or so. Stirred in 1 T freshly grated parmesan (I have one of those little zester graters). Stirred the noodles and corn back into the sauce along with a healthy dose of pepper, poured it on a plate and grated another tablespoon of parmesan over it. It made quite a large plate of pasta (could someone seriously eat 8 ounces like the recipe says?) and was delicious! Better than plain buttered noodles and quite delicate. I don't think it was too unhealthy, either (the light margarine had 5 g fat, the parmesan had about 4, then whatever fat was in the noodles and corn). I really liked the corn with it, too. I will definitely make this in the future, thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
gotta say, I lived off this in college too! Even works with the cheese from a green can, if necessary (it's cheaper). Throw in some cooked frozen broccoli to make your mom happy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
This was alright... a little plain. We added onions and ham, trying to spruce it up a little, but not to much avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Quick, easy, easy to find ingredients. Great taste ... can't really ask for anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family rates this recipe as 5 stars. I do recommend doubling the sauce for a pound of pasta. (We like to dip our bread in it;-D)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Pretty dang good for being so simple! I followed the recipe as written except I only cooked up about 8 oz of pasta...definitely double the sauce if you plan on cooking up the whole 16 oz. Next time I think I'll thicken the sauce with a bit with flour, as it was a little runny, and I'll use garlic powder instead of garlic salt; it made it just a tad too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I'm in university now, and this is perfect, all things we usually have around, nice and fast and delicious! I usually use a little less butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn MacKenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My 15 year old daughter wanted to make dinner last night and we found this recipe. I was shocked how great it tasted and how easy it was for her to make! We didn't have garlic salt so she threw in a little bit of Kosher salt and some garlic powder. It really was fantastic...a very pleasant surprise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Paltz, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States