College Student's Gourmet Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
So simple, and just delicious. I made the following modifications. I did not have garlic salt, so I used garlic powder and added a bit of salt and pepper. I also doubled the parmesan and recommend using a good parmesan (not the green container stuff that has been sitting in your fridge). I only had skim milk on hand and it was fine, but next time I will use half n' half. This is so much easier then my usual alfredo and really just as good. I suggest tossing it with some tortellini and pairing with a green veggie and some kielbasa. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was just cooking for myself tonight and was planning on just eating buttered noodles, but I stumbled across this recipe when the noodles were boiling and opted to try it out! I used 4 ounces of bow tie pasta and added a bit over a cup of frozen corn (was finishing off the bag) right before the noodles were finished cooking. While they were draining in the colander I put 1 T leftover garlic butter (light margarine mixed with garlic powder and dried parsley), 1 T leftover white wine and 2 T milk in the pan I'd used to cook the noodles and let that simmer for a minute or so. Stirred in 1 T freshly grated parmesan (I have one of those little zester graters). Stirred the noodles and corn back into the sauce along with a healthy dose of pepper, poured it on a plate and grated another tablespoon of parmesan over it. It made quite a large plate of pasta (could someone seriously eat 8 ounces like the recipe says?) and was delicious! Better than plain buttered noodles and quite delicate. I don't think it was too unhealthy, either (the light margarine had 5 g fat, the parmesan had about 4, then whatever fat was in the noodles and corn). I really liked the corn with it, too. I will definitely make this in the future, thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I've made this for years, I just called it Poverty Pasta because we usually make it before payday. The only thing I do differently is leave out the milk, and use garlic powder, not salt then add the S&P separate. It's super quick when you are limited on time, too. Add frozen peas to the pasta water when cooking and then you have your veggies too. Another reviewer had it right, this isn't meant to be "gourmet",just good when you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Scratchley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I didn't actually make this exactly as described. I added 1 egg yoke(for a creamier texture) and about 5 times as much parmesan. Instead of garlic salt, I used 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/8 teaspoon of salt. I also added cracked pepper before serving. It was pretty good. I'l be making it again since it was so easy. Took me about 10 minutes to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
So quick and easy. Great side dish. All five of my kids loved it and it's hard to get all five kids to like the same thing. Will serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I agree with Ashley that it was a bit Milky but overall quite nice. very quick which was excatly what i wanted. i just dont have the time to bake a maccaroni cheese. overall nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I did not like this at all it had way to much graclic for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was alright...a little too milky tasting for me, I tried adding some shredded cheese to give it some more flavor but it didn't really help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
A very basic carbonara without the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Quick, easy, easy to find ingredients. Great taste ... can't really ask for anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States