College Student's Gourmet Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Quick, easy, easy to find ingredients. Great taste ... can't really ask for anything more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was just cooking for myself tonight and was planning on just eating buttered noodles, but I stumbled across this recipe when the noodles were boiling and opted to try it out! I used 4 ounces of bow tie pasta and added a bit over a cup of frozen corn (was finishing off the bag) right before the noodles were finished cooking. While they were draining in the colander I put 1 T leftover garlic butter (light margarine mixed with garlic powder and dried parsley), 1 T leftover white wine and 2 T milk in the pan I'd used to cook the noodles and let that simmer for a minute or so. Stirred in 1 T freshly grated parmesan (I have one of those little zester graters). Stirred the noodles and corn back into the sauce along with a healthy dose of pepper, poured it on a plate and grated another tablespoon of parmesan over it. It made quite a large plate of pasta (could someone seriously eat 8 ounces like the recipe says?) and was delicious! Better than plain buttered noodles and quite delicate. I don't think it was too unhealthy, either (the light margarine had 5 g fat, the parmesan had about 4, then whatever fat was in the noodles and corn). I really liked the corn with it, too. I will definitely make this in the future, thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
So simple, and just delicious. I made the following modifications. I did not have garlic salt, so I used garlic powder and added a bit of salt and pepper. I also doubled the parmesan and recommend using a good parmesan (not the green container stuff that has been sitting in your fridge). I only had skim milk on hand and it was fine, but next time I will use half n' half. This is so much easier then my usual alfredo and really just as good. I suggest tossing it with some tortellini and pairing with a green veggie and some kielbasa. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
absolutely delicious for what it is... a simple, relatively delicious and cheap recipe! i'm in college now and i live on this recipe. thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
gotta say, I lived off this in college too! Even works with the cheese from a green can, if necessary (it's cheaper). Throw in some cooked frozen broccoli to make your mom happy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was the first good recipe I've found that doesn't require much cheese. I used soy milk and a tablespoon of soy cream cheese instead of the parm due to dairy allergies. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Quick and easy. I had everything on hand. Best of all, the children loved it and ate 2-3 helpings. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family rates this recipe as 5 stars. I do recommend doubling the sauce for a pound of pasta. (We like to dip our bread in it;-D)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Good taste with few ingredients. We threw some chicken and Italian seasonings, and it made a wonderful pasta dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
If you add a little olive oil, it takes it over the top. I have been eating angel hair this way for years, but always add a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States