College Student's Gourmet Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was tasty and simple, perfect for a no-frills cook like me. I was worried about the pasta tasting too salty, so I used garlic powder per one of the reviewer's suggestions. It tasted very good, and it's a superb alternative to the same ol' red sauce. Next time, I'll add a few veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I thought this would taste like "Pasta Roni's Parmesan Pasta", but it didn't have the same flavor. I only used 7oz. pasta but kept the milk and cheese the same. I might have overcooked my sauce because my pasta took forever to cook. I made this for my kids, one out of two ate it. I don't think I would make it again. It would be better if you added some herbs to it. I only used one tablespoon butter for the sauce and used the other tablespoon to toss in the pasta when it was done (good thing I reserved some of the plain buttered pasta for the kid that wouldn't eat it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Definitely not enough sauce for my liking. And I tend to like my sauce thick. It was also too garlic-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nimrod, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family rates this recipe as 5 stars. I do recommend doubling the sauce for a pound of pasta. (We like to dip our bread in it;-D)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Quick and easy. I had everything on hand. Best of all, the children loved it and ate 2-3 helpings. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was the first good recipe I've found that doesn't require much cheese. I used soy milk and a tablespoon of soy cream cheese instead of the parm due to dairy allergies. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
gotta say, I lived off this in college too! Even works with the cheese from a green can, if necessary (it's cheaper). Throw in some cooked frozen broccoli to make your mom happy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Heather, this seriously is one of my favorite comfort foods. And like Taylor said, I prefer it with garlic powder and just a bit of catsup mixed in. And no, I didn't drink a whole bottle of peppermint schnaps; I believe it was bourbon. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Used 8 oz. Pastina, added our usual garlic and onion powders, subbed ketchup for the milk and had a lovely little lunch with Linda McLean, who ate about 18 Deep Fried Oreos and drank an entire bottle of Peppermint Schnapps while I was slaving over this favorite recipe of hers. I think next time I'll lock the liquor cabinet and use the milk instead of the ketchup... or take her out to lunch instead. Thanks, Heather:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
absolutely delicious for what it is... a simple, relatively delicious and cheap recipe! i'm in college now and i live on this recipe. thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States