Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I thought this was fantastic! I live in New Orleans and believe the taste to be authentic. Due to previous reviews about it being too runny, I drained the tomatoes (I used diced tomatoes with onion, celery, and green peppers). I omitted the pepper (my family doesn't like them), and added 4 or so cloves of sliced garlic (a must!). I used Tony Chachere's seasoning, and only 1/2 tsp. cayenne and I thought it was perfect, but some (like my mother-in-law who is very sensitive), might find it a big spicy (nothing a little sour cream on top won't fix :D). Finally, I planned on adding rice directly in the crock pot, but it turned out to actually be too dry (may be because it cooked for 9 1/2 hours), so I had to cook the rice separately, then stirred it in with about 1/2 cup of extra chicken broth. So easy, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I thought this receipe was very good. My husband says he thought Jambalya should be a little bit more soupy. I used turkey sausage instead and left out the cajun seasoning because my kids will not eat anything with alot of spice. I cooked the rice seperate and then mixed it together. This says it is a serving for 12 (but it made 17 cups for me) enough to have it again for another night. I am putting down information if anyone is interested and this is based on what I used. 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast (all fat removed), 1 pound sweet turkey sausage, 14 oz canned diced tomatoes with onions, 14 oz canned diced tomatoes with green chilies, 3/4 c frozen tri colored bell pepper strips (diced), 2 c finely diced celery (4 stalks)-(the second cup was an accident-but turned out good), 1 c 99% fat free chicken broth, 1 1/3 c frozen chopped onion, 1 pound frozen shrimp, 3 c uncooked rice, 2 tsp dried oregano, 2 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp dried thyme Information based on a 1 c serving (17 servings)Calories 233.2 / Fat 3.9 / Fiber 1.7 / Sodium 582.6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1046 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have never been a real jambalaya fan...but this is the BOMB! I love the combination of chicken, sausage and shrimp. The only things I do different... I don't like cooked celery, so I omit that...and I serve it over red beans a rice that I make from a package, instead of plain white rice. Oh I also use uncooked shrimp and add it a little earlier to the crock pot...cooked shrimp tends to get too chewy. YUM YUM YUM - always requested...and this year we're having a Cajun themed Christmas of which this dish will be the main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
750 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAC511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
O.k., so it's a little soupy. But let me tell you, the flavor of this stuff absoultely rocks!! It's as good as any jambalaya I've had anywhere! And talk about easy! If the "soupiness" bothers you, put your cooked rice in ahead of time and it will absorb liquid. Fortunately, I am able to get andouille sausage in Houston, but I would guess that, if you only had access to kielbasa or smoked sausage, you could kick the cayenne up a notch or two and get the same result. This stuff rocks. Thanks for sharing it with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This is good! I used 4T. of the Creole Seasoning recipe on this site instead of the seasonings listed (gives much more flavor).I also found that 4 hours in my slow cooker is plenty of cooking time and I don't end up with mush!The last 1/2 hour of cooking I add the shrimp and 2C. of instint brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe. I would not cut down on the spices like some suggested. I don't like things too spicy and this had kick, but was not too hot. I also would make the rice separate and pour the jambalaya over it. I tried adding the rice to the crock pot and it absorbed all of the liquid too quickly not allowing the rice to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Flavor wasn’t bad but it was very spicy. Personally I’d call this soup, not Jambalaya. Jambalaya has rice cooked together with the rest of the ingredients and it‘s not soupy. I’ll stick with a more authentic recipe like the “Oven Baked Jambalaya” on this site. And be sure to try the “Creole Seasoning Blend”, also on this site, IT ROCKS! It’s all the Cajun seasoning you’ll ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was wonderful! I assembled it the night before a company potluck, then took it to work and plugged it in at the office. It cooked on high for 4 hours. I ommitted the shrimp, and in the last 1/2 hour of cooking, I added about 7 servings worth of INSTANT rice to the pot, and let it cook. It was a huge hit! The only thing I really changed was that I used a Creole seasoning blend in lieu of the seasonings it calls for. It was just easier that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
My boyfriend LOVED this dish. The spices and flavor were just right. I made this a few months before our trip to New Orleans. We compared this recipe to the jambalaya at the resturants and this one was a lot better. There wasn't any shrimp in any of them-- only chicken and sausage! I also added crawfish. Just the tail meat- not the whole animal or the shell or anything. I found packaged tail meat in the frozen fish section at the grocery next to the shrimp. *Make sure you rinse the crawfish meat before you add it! Otherwise it tastes a bit like dirt. But it thickens the stew even more and adds more protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This recipe is WONDERFUL! I used tomatoes with onion, garlic and celery as that's all I had on the shelf and increased the Cajun seasoning to 2.5 tsp. Added the shrimp during the last 20 minutes so it wouldn't get chewy from being overcooked. Absolutely rocked our Mardi Gras party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States