Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I thought this was fantastic! I live in New Orleans and believe the taste to be authentic. Due to previous reviews about it being too runny, I drained the tomatoes (I used diced tomatoes with onion, celery, and green peppers). I omitted the pepper (my family doesn't like them), and added 4 or so cloves of sliced garlic (a must!). I used Tony Chachere's seasoning, and only 1/2 tsp. cayenne and I thought it was perfect, but some (like my mother-in-law who is very sensitive), might find it a big spicy (nothing a little sour cream on top won't fix :D). Finally, I planned on adding rice directly in the crock pot, but it turned out to actually be too dry (may be because it cooked for 9 1/2 hours), so I had to cook the rice separately, then stirred it in with about 1/2 cup of extra chicken broth. So easy, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I thought this receipe was very good. My husband says he thought Jambalya should be a little bit more soupy. I used turkey sausage instead and left out the cajun seasoning because my kids will not eat anything with alot of spice. I cooked the rice seperate and then mixed it together. This says it is a serving for 12 (but it made 17 cups for me) enough to have it again for another night. I am putting down information if anyone is interested and this is based on what I used. 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast (all fat removed), 1 pound sweet turkey sausage, 14 oz canned diced tomatoes with onions, 14 oz canned diced tomatoes with green chilies, 3/4 c frozen tri colored bell pepper strips (diced), 2 c finely diced celery (4 stalks)-(the second cup was an accident-but turned out good), 1 c 99% fat free chicken broth, 1 1/3 c frozen chopped onion, 1 pound frozen shrimp, 3 c uncooked rice, 2 tsp dried oregano, 2 tsp dried parsley, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp dried thyme Information based on a 1 c serving (17 servings)Calories 233.2 / Fat 3.9 / Fiber 1.7 / Sodium 582.6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1007 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I have never been a real jambalaya fan...but this is the BOMB! I love the combination of chicken, sausage and shrimp. The only things I do different... I don't like cooked celery, so I omit that...and I serve it over red beans a rice that I make from a package, instead of plain white rice. Oh I also use uncooked shrimp and add it a little earlier to the crock pot...cooked shrimp tends to get too chewy. YUM YUM YUM - always requested...and this year we're having a Cajun themed Christmas of which this dish will be the main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
722 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAC511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
O.k., so it's a little soupy. But let me tell you, the flavor of this stuff absoultely rocks!! It's as good as any jambalaya I've had anywhere! And talk about easy! If the "soupiness" bothers you, put your cooked rice in ahead of time and it will absorb liquid. Fortunately, I am able to get andouille sausage in Houston, but I would guess that, if you only had access to kielbasa or smoked sausage, you could kick the cayenne up a notch or two and get the same result. This stuff rocks. Thanks for sharing it with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This is good! I used 4T. of the Creole Seasoning recipe on this site instead of the seasonings listed (gives much more flavor).I also found that 4 hours in my slow cooker is plenty of cooking time and I don't end up with mush!The last 1/2 hour of cooking I add the shrimp and 2C. of instint brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe. I would not cut down on the spices like some suggested. I don't like things too spicy and this had kick, but was not too hot. I also would make the rice separate and pour the jambalaya over it. I tried adding the rice to the crock pot and it absorbed all of the liquid too quickly not allowing the rice to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Flavor wasn’t bad but it was very spicy. Personally I’d call this soup, not Jambalaya. Jambalaya has rice cooked together with the rest of the ingredients and it‘s not soupy. I’ll stick with a more authentic recipe like the “Oven Baked Jambalaya” on this site. And be sure to try the “Creole Seasoning Blend”, also on this site, IT ROCKS! It’s all the Cajun seasoning you’ll ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was wonderful! I assembled it the night before a company potluck, then took it to work and plugged it in at the office. It cooked on high for 4 hours. I ommitted the shrimp, and in the last 1/2 hour of cooking, I added about 7 servings worth of INSTANT rice to the pot, and let it cook. It was a huge hit! The only thing I really changed was that I used a Creole seasoning blend in lieu of the seasonings it calls for. It was just easier that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
My boyfriend LOVED this dish. The spices and flavor were just right. I made this a few months before our trip to New Orleans. We compared this recipe to the jambalaya at the resturants and this one was a lot better. There wasn't any shrimp in any of them-- only chicken and sausage! I also added crawfish. Just the tail meat- not the whole animal or the shell or anything. I found packaged tail meat in the frozen fish section at the grocery next to the shrimp. *Make sure you rinse the crawfish meat before you add it! Otherwise it tastes a bit like dirt. But it thickens the stew even more and adds more protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Great recipe/base that you can dress up or down depending on your purpose. For those who have said it's expensive or that there's still a lot of prep time, here is what I do for a last-minute version that makes it cheaper, faster, and more pantry-savvy: Replace broth with boullion+water, use Kraft jambalaya seasoning (comes in a large spice container in the spice aisle), frozen chicken breasts, and 1/2 bag of BirdsEye frozen Pepper Stir-Fry (just red/yellow/green peppers and onions). I throw all of that plus remaining ingredients in the crock pot, leaving the breasts frozen/whole. After 8 hours on low, I slice up the chicken and add instant rice and cook 25 more min. Drops prep time to about 3 min. to slice celery & sausage, and another couple minutes to throw everything in pot. This version is never quite up to the standards of using fresh veggies, customizing spices, etc. but it is good for something that is no-fuss, and not too pricey. I don't have kids, but I constantly cook for my boyfriend's friends. And after working all day I’d rather not waste my time or money making them meals that I slave over with fresh and/or expensive ingredients. This is the perfect answer for that! On a different note, to commenter WHATAYAWANT: get a new butcher!! Andouille sausage may not be as common as italian, but even before this recipe I knew what it was. And I do NOT cook a lot, nor do I even really like sausage. Outrageous that a butcher wouldn't have even heard of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States