Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Made from ingredients that are not hard to find, this jambalaya is filled with warm, delicious flavor. Now that is the review of a born and raised Easterner who now lives in the Midwest. I've not had traditional jambalaya to compare it too, but this recipe gets rave reviews whenever I make it. The only tweak I make is a little cornstarch to thicken it near the end, then I serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Richardson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
In agreement with other previous comments that the consistency is more soup-like than stew. Could be more on the spicy side, but has a agreeable Cajun seasoning that is indicative of City Creole jambalaya (also called "red jambalaya"/ with tomatoes). As traditionally "Cajun" jambalaya, meat and vegetables are cooked separately from the rice in this recipe. I served with brown rice and had plenty of left-overs (served 3). Tasters of this meal said the jambalaya tasted better with aging in having left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Fun and different dinner. Served over rice, will make again without the chicken, it was bland and unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
very good but 6 hours on low was probably plenty. The chicken would have been overcooked otherwise. After cooking for 6 hours, I drained 3 cups of juice/broth and made rice in separate pot and then poured the jambalaya over the top of the rice when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good, I did not have a problem with the rice. Aborsibing the liquid in the slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was okay, it wasn't the best jambalaya I've ever had. We cooked raw shrimp in butter and seasoning and then added it after the jambalaya was done so it wouldn't be overcooked. We also fried the sausage in olive oil before adding it to the slow cooker too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Taste was good. Very soupy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made this recipe as written and it was terrific. I suspect this will become a staple at our house. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catypillrgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Excellent!! Even my kids enjoyed this. And that's saying something. I added two bay leaves and some chopped garlic Otherwise, jut followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Made exactly per the recipe. Delicious, but I might cut the cayenne just a little next time. It overwhelmed the other spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States