Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I like the ease and versatility of this recipe. The first time I made this I fould it a bit too hot. So the next time I cut back the cayenne by half. I didn't have Cajun seasoning so I made one off this site so that may have added extra heat. On the advice of others I added cooked rice to the slowcooker this time and it was okay. The rice absorbed quite a bit of the liquid this way so if you want to keep some of that yummy sauce don't do it that way. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was not only really good, but easy to make as well. I am not usually a big fan of Cajun or spicy food, but this was more flavorful than "hot". I brought it to a potluck at work and had lots of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I like this recipe. I pre-measure the dry ingredients and bag it to take it camping so it makes it easier. Great meal to make and be able to go out and have some fun. Glad I found this. My husband like it when this comes camping with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Just bland and it lacked character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Branden Lee Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Tasty but a bit watery for my personal liking. I will use 3/4 cup broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have tried "lots" of Jambalaya recipes and over the years have come up with a pretty good version of my own. I happened across this one and thought "No Way"....can't just throw everything, raw meat and all into a crockpot and come home to a decent product. Well yes, apparently you can:-) I was very pleasantly surprised. Not going to say it is the best ever, but it is VERY respectable. I have for sure had much worse in more than one restaurant. Nice job on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JXYOUNG
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is so easy and delicious! I make it at least once a week now and there's never any wasted leftovers. It smells so good while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was really good as an all-day-at-work crockpot dinner. I prepped it the night before and turned it on 8 hours on low when I left. When I got home, turned it on high for 30min to reheat and cook the shrimp. The hubby and I loved it and loved the heat. My toddler only ate a few bites of the chicken but his loss. It made plenty of leftovers and I'll make it again. I might even try this as a freezer meal. My only complaint was it was a little soupy, but that's easily fixable by either upping the meat or reducing some of the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Whenever I find a recipe that my kids, my husband, and I all like I do a happy dance. This jambalaya was easy and delicious. I did halve the Cajun seasoning and cayenne for the kiddos sake, and that turned out to be a good decision for my family's preferences. Also, I used fresh uncooked shrimp and threw it in the last 15 minutes because I was slow cooking on the high setting. Thank you for this family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States