Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ceki Halmen
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great taste, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceki Halmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Easy and tasty. I cooked on high for just over two hours, and the meat was cooked through but not overdone. I added one cup more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I added instant rice during the last 20 minutes or so and it was perfect! Just spicy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! It is so easy to make but tastes like it took some real effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
The husband and I ate this last night and loved it! I was a little apprehensive at first because we're both fairly picky when it comes to Cajun food. As in, it needs to taste like our relatives in Louisiana made it. This was really, very good and will definitely be making it again! I used a deer/pork sausage instead of andouille and a subbed a can of rotel for the diced tomatoes and added a bit more broth to the pot. It is more soupy than traditional jambalaya, but when combined with the rice and all the flavors, it was not a problem for us at all. Especially since it's something so easy to make during the week. We are eating it again for dinner tonight and I honestly can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Made from ingredients that are not hard to find, this jambalaya is filled with warm, delicious flavor. Now that is the review of a born and raised Easterner who now lives in the Midwest. I've not had traditional jambalaya to compare it too, but this recipe gets rave reviews whenever I make it. The only tweak I make is a little cornstarch to thicken it near the end, then I serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2manyprojects

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
In agreement with other previous comments that the consistency is more soup-like than stew. Could be more on the spicy side, but has a agreeable Cajun seasoning that is indicative of City Creole jambalaya (also called "red jambalaya"/ with tomatoes). As traditionally "Cajun" jambalaya, meat and vegetables are cooked separately from the rice in this recipe. I served with brown rice and had plenty of left-overs (served 3). Tasters of this meal said the jambalaya tasted better with aging in having left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowborn
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Fun and different dinner. Served over rice, will make again without the chicken, it was bland and unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
very good but 6 hours on low was probably plenty. The chicken would have been overcooked otherwise. After cooking for 6 hours, I drained 3 cups of juice/broth and made rice in separate pot and then poured the jambalaya over the top of the rice when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good, I did not have a problem with the rice. Aborsibing the liquid in the slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States