Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Wonderful rolls for every occasion. I gave these 5 stars due to the flexibility that the dough allows. I let it rise in the fridge for 2 days at which time I rolled out and baked half of the batch. I then put the remainder of the dough back in the fridge and let it rise for an additional 2 days. The second batch came out beautifully as well. Unlike most bread dough, I could make the rolls on my schedule. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had to use canned potatoes since I had no other. pretty good rolls. Next time to save time , I will do bread machine as another states how in the reviews. I saw that too late. for taste I would give these a 5, but since they were kind of a hassle to me , I gave them a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So Good!!! Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauriann1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I have made lots of bread but I am not very good at it. These crescents were the easiest to NOT screw up that I have ever come across so a HUGE kudos and thanks for that. These were definitely five stars on the morning that I made them but they did not have the same deliciousness the next day. Next time I will add more salt. Even with the honey butter that I drizzled on top, I thought they could use a little extra salt to balance them out. I had my entire family over for breakfast and they gave these rolls compliment after compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used half the recipe for dinner rolls and half for butterscotch, pecan breakfast rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
5+ stars Colleen you are a queen at my house these rolls are wonderful. Thank you for a great easy to make recipe that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made these at Thanksgiving and neglected to see where you're supposed to cover them for 1 hour after rolling them into crescent shape. Other than that I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. They came out absolutely delicious anyway, and were gobbled up and complimented by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Excellent!! They stay soft the next day, and do not dry out like other rolls. Big hit at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. Everyone loved these. I think they were good, but kinda a pain to cut and roll, so that's why I gave only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I really love this roll dough. I would suggest using 1 Tbsp salt to give added flavor to the dough. Also, I struggled to get uniform looking rolls whenever I rolled them out as circles then cut. I suggest rolling half the dough out as a large rectangle about 14 x 21 inches long. Brush on the melted butter then using a pizza cutter, cut into smaller rectangles about 3 x 7 inches. Then cut each rectangle diagonally corner to corner, like how Pillsbury cresent rolls come out of the tube, then roll each up from the wide end. I found this much easier to get evenly divided. I also did not refrigerate dough at all. I let it rise once then cut dough into rolls and let rise before baking. My kids and friends all loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States