Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These rolls are very good, and the dough is very easy to handle. It was easy to use this recipe because of being able to refrigerate them for so long before baking them. I wish I would have mixed up the potatoes more because there were little visible chunks of potato in the dough when rolling it out. This won't replace my family's all-time favorite rolls but they certainly deserve to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Soft, moist, delicious and EASY rolls! I couldn't be happier with this recipe. Everyone enjoyed them. My only tips are that they are best warm and brush of melted butter before baking gives them a nice golden appearance. Otherwise, you'll be tempted to overcook them! All in all, absolutely wonderful. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyousLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These were amazing. SO so easy...and delicious! Food Proof...will make this again for sure!! I even took half the dough and made a cinamon roll in the morning with it...FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oops..forgot to add something... I allowed the dough to rise about 2 1/2 hours. I started the oven temp at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes and then raised the temp to 375 for browning and they came out picture perfect. When I did a test baking at 400 the bottoms got to brown. And, yes this recipe makes a lot of dough so you might want to freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Ahhhhhh! These were FATASTIC! I think these have officially replaced boring old rolls in my house. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
AMAZING!!!! Didn't change a single thing about the recipe, and they were easy to make and came out wonderfully! Baked for 12 minutes and they were wonderfully fluffy and delicious. One warning- this recipe yields A LOT of dinner rolls- might want to try freezing half the dough for later. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These are absolutely amazing. I've read several variations on the recipe, but I don't change anything. I slather on a ton of butter after rolling out, and I slather on more before I bake them. Sorry you just can't have enough butter. The butter chills on the cold dough, but doesn't detract at all. Watch them when you bake them so you don't over cook them. I never have leftovers, even when I triple the recipe! Fantastic with (more) butter and jam/jelly when hot, and fantastic when chilled. They keep really well in Tupperware in the fridge for days. Update: Now my inlaws come to my house and ask for these rolls specifically. Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I found my Thanksgiving rolls! This are light, airy and very tasty. I followed the recipe to a T, using 2/3 C sugar, which I thought would be too sweet. No worries....they were perfect. I made 24 dinner rolls and 6 sandwich rolls. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These rolls were amazing, very delicious. I didn't form them into crescent shapes because it was so sticky to work with, I just roll them into balls and rise and bake it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Haven't even cooked this entirely yet; and I didn't allow it to sit for the 8 hours as mentioned; only did 2 hours in the freezer; but the dough is beautiful to work with; really easy; not sticky in the least; really seems foolproof so long as your yeast is working properly. And I rolled it out to about a 16-18 inch circle; just size wise to roll the crescents; seemed better; still cut out the 16 wedges as directed (just means for the 16-18 inch you get a few more rolls/rotations in each roll than you for the the 12); and the rose absolutely stunningly; are huge; and they've only just popper in the oven!! Done half with jsut the butter and half with garlic butter; and they smell and look devine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States