Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
so fantastic. i made for the fam for easter. the only thing i will do differently is lower the temp. the first batch was a little too done at 15 minutes so i turned down to 375 and the second cookie sheet was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Theses were great! I have never made bread before, baking with yeast was a foreign world for me. But the recipe was easy. I made them for Easter and everyone loved them! I will definetly be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeresaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I admit I screwed these up (I used the1/4 cup of butter in the batter instead of the 2/3 cups of shortening), but they were still great. I'm sure they'll be just as good when I make the correctly. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey J. Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Dinner roll nirvana. Light, tender, buttery, moist, yeasty little mouthfuls of deliciousness. The one and only recommendation I would make is to cut the sugar if you're looking for a dinner roll and not a sweet roll. I used 6 Tb, which gave a subtle hint of sweetness to the flavor, but stopped short of defining it as more appropriate for a sweet breakfast roll. Easiest way to cut? Use a pizza cutter to cut your rolled circle into quarters, then divide those quarters in half to make eighths, then subcut those in half to get 16. All cuts need to intersect at one point in the center of the circle. After cutting, spread with the butter (I don't melt - just use softened butter. Melting is an unnecessary extra step and one more item to wash) then roll up each wedge as described in the directions. Be sure to wait sufficient time after shaping the refrigerated dough into individual rolls for a complete rise. For me, that took about an hour and 20 minutes (your timing could be more because of kitchen temp. I'm in south FL, so it's always pretty warm.) This step yields the maximum lightness of texture, just as rushing things will contribute to a heaviness in your finished product. I've made these countless times now. Perfect every time. Superb heirloom recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Used instant potatoes....1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
the best roll recipe I have ever used. my family loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Some of the best rolls I've had...reminds me of the Lion House rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Excellent rolls! Very light and fluffy. Much better than the canned variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe! My husband even said it was"a keeper". I was short on time so I forgo the rest time in the fridge and let them raise for 2 hours. They came out perfectly golden brown and fluffy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are incredible and easy to make. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and they still had a sweet taste. Perfect for Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States