Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This potato bread is amazing. I used half soon and remain half in refrigerator. Then I used it 3days later with chocolate and cinnamon sugar. It was perfectly fine! Nice and moisture. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Had halved the recipe . proofed yeast by mixing in 1ts sugar . mixed everything in standmixer.Also did them savoury. Added only 3tb sugar.&instead of dividing the dough into 16wedges , divided in 8.perfect size.Also took advice of reviews &kept them covered whole time loosely with foil&uncovered them for last2min.perfect browning.im glad I did else they would have got burnt or overbrowned.For extra flavour i added some minced garlic in butter &some chilli flakes along with some garlic bread seasoning.this added so much to these.thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good recipe! if anyone is having a problem getting their yeast to activate first make sure the yeast is not too old second always store opened container of yeast in the fridge third add 1/4 cup hot water (110'-120') add in one packet or 2 1/4 tsp. yeast and 1 tbs. sugar that should work for anyone if it works for me trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious! 4 stars only because I made alterations, the result of which were 5 star rolls. I made this with half shortening/half butter and cut the sugar in half. I also did not refrigerate it... just let the dough rise covered on the counter, then let the crescents rise again in the oven at the lowest temp setting. Brushed them with butter before baking, into the oven for 25 minutes and they were just perfect. My hubby loves them. I froze half of my rolls before they rose the second time so we can enjoy some more in a couple of weeks! I think cutting the sugar in half is a good choice if you are making a dinner roll as I can still taste a bit of sweetness. However, this would be fantastic as cinnamon buns or another sweet bread with the full amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These rolls are very, very good!! I'm giving 4 stars because you don't "need" to wait 8 hours in the fridge. for them to rise. First I cut the recipe in half and it made 16 nice sized rolls. I used my kitchen aid mixer. Mixed water, sugar and yeast until proofed...10 min. then with dough hook attached, added all other ingredients adding flour a cup at a time until blended on slow speed. Then kneaded on a board for appx. 10 min. put in lightly oiled bowl covered with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Punched down dough, rolled into log and cut into 16 equal pieces. Rolled into balls, placed on baking sheet, covered with plastic wrap and let rise again for 30-40 min. baked at 350 for 25 min. came out great!!! Will definitely make again, thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
When ever I make a Potatoe roll, I never discard the potatoe water, I cool the water, and use it as the water in the rolls, much better than plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holly Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are big hit. I made them once for Thanksgiving and now everyone asks for them every holiday. The time and effort are definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are great! I make them for my son that is allergic to eggs. I use 1/4 cup apple sauce per egg, and they rise right and still taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri D.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I'm not sure where I went wrong with these, but they turned out very dense and chewy. They were also quite bland - I ended up covering one batch with rosemary garlic butter and another batch with cinnamon-clove-sugar butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made dinner rolls shaped into balls and used my kitchenaid mixer to knead the dough, everything else as written. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States