Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
FANTASTIC!!! I've also made these, frozen for travel, then defrosted and baked at my SiL's house. They were amazed at how good they are. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Wow. I was skeptical, but tried this because I wanted to bring rolls to a friend's for Easter dinner. I made the dough and had it in the fridge around 11AM Saturday. I pulled it on Sunday morning, about an hour before I formed the rolls, which then had almost three hours to rise while I was at mass. I was amazed at how much they increased in size after rising, which was about 3X in volume. I only made a half batch, but messed up and made one half of my dough into 16 rolls, then made the other half into 12 rolls. They came out HUGE compared to the starting point. I made things easier by brushing melted butter over the whole disc of dough before cutting them into triangles and forming the crescents, then brushed them again before baking. I covered the pans with foil to prevent over-browning, removing it for the last two minutes. I got 28 rolls out of a half batch. I can only imagine if I'd portioned them according to the recipe that they'd have been large enough for a sandwich. The rolls had a wonderfully soft, flaky texture. I'm DEFINITELY going to use this recipe often. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made this for the family Christmas dinner and they were GREAT! People even asked for the recipe. They were easy to make and I made the dough 4 day ahead and rolled the cresents the day before. I set them out for 2 hour before baking to get to room temp and to rise more. I will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made these for Thanksgiving dinner. They are wonderful....light and fluffy! Great flavor! I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. I did have to exchange the shortening for butter and did not chill it. Although chilling and letting dough develop gives it even a better flavor....next time when I have more time I will do that... I cannot even imagine it tasting better...this will go into my keeper recipes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This potato bread is amazing. I used half soon and remain half in refrigerator. Then I used it 3days later with chocolate and cinnamon sugar. It was perfectly fine! Nice and moisture. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Had halved the recipe . proofed yeast by mixing in 1ts sugar . mixed everything in standmixer.Also did them savoury. Added only 3tb sugar.&instead of dividing the dough into 16wedges , divided in 8.perfect size.Also took advice of reviews &kept them covered whole time loosely with foil&uncovered them for last2min.perfect browning.im glad I did else they would have got burnt or overbrowned.For extra flavour i added some minced garlic in butter &some chilli flakes along with some garlic bread seasoning.this added so much to these.thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good recipe! if anyone is having a problem getting their yeast to activate first make sure the yeast is not too old second always store opened container of yeast in the fridge third add 1/4 cup hot water (110'-120') add in one packet or 2 1/4 tsp. yeast and 1 tbs. sugar that should work for anyone if it works for me trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious! 4 stars only because I made alterations, the result of which were 5 star rolls. I made this with half shortening/half butter and cut the sugar in half. I also did not refrigerate it... just let the dough rise covered on the counter, then let the crescents rise again in the oven at the lowest temp setting. Brushed them with butter before baking, into the oven for 25 minutes and they were just perfect. My hubby loves them. I froze half of my rolls before they rose the second time so we can enjoy some more in a couple of weeks! I think cutting the sugar in half is a good choice if you are making a dinner roll as I can still taste a bit of sweetness. However, this would be fantastic as cinnamon buns or another sweet bread with the full amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These rolls are very, very good!! I'm giving 4 stars because you don't "need" to wait 8 hours in the fridge. for them to rise. First I cut the recipe in half and it made 16 nice sized rolls. I used my kitchen aid mixer. Mixed water, sugar and yeast until proofed...10 min. then with dough hook attached, added all other ingredients adding flour a cup at a time until blended on slow speed. Then kneaded on a board for appx. 10 min. put in lightly oiled bowl covered with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Punched down dough, rolled into log and cut into 16 equal pieces. Rolled into balls, placed on baking sheet, covered with plastic wrap and let rise again for 30-40 min. baked at 350 for 25 min. came out great!!! Will definitely make again, thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
When ever I make a Potatoe roll, I never discard the potatoe water, I cool the water, and use it as the water in the rolls, much better than plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holly Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States