Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I usually go for the "bread machine" recipes, but this one caught my eye. My family loves it. It is easy to make and has a wonderful taste and texture. I mix honey and butter to glaze the top with after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I used instant potato to make a cup of mash potato. I made it as cinnamon rolls instead of crescent rolls. Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I made this for a baby shower lucheon. The ladies loved it!! This recipe made me appear to be some kind of home made roll domestic goddess!! I got a call to make more the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I made these rolls today and they were wonderful. I cut down the sugar to 1/3 cup and I put the dough in the fridge and took part of it out to fix rolls for dinner tonight and they were excellent. I am saving the rest to fix tomorrow. These rolls have an excellent flavor and are quite easy to make, I just couldn't wait until to tomorrow to try them and am glad that I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This bread is pretty great. I made it for Thanskgiving and everyone wanted the recipe. It was perhaps my finest work, and it wasn't real tough, though it did involve making a whole mess of the dough the day before and filling up the fridge. Still, the final product is outstanding. I didn't make them into crescent rolls, and I didn't add the butter at the end, but they were sitll great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
You do have to make this in advance, but it is well worth the wait! The staff members I work with are such picky eaters, and yet, they all wanted this recipe! It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I made these rolls for a family gathering today and my children, neices and nephews were eating them as they came out of the oven. I don't consider myself a great yeast bread maker but this recipe is wonderful and so easy. I'm looking forward to making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is a TREMENDOUS bread dough recipie! I didn't have baking potatoes on hand, so I made a cup of instant potatoes, and it was just as wonderful! I even used this as a basic bread recipie instead of making rolls, and it was great. I didn't let it rise in the fridge as specified, I let it rise in a warm place until it doubled--I was too impatient for it to rise overnight or for days! :) It is nice to know you can make it ahead, though. It is very kid-friendly--my kids had fun rolling up the crescent shapes, and they loved the soft rolls after they were cooked. Thanks, Colleen, for a wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving, and even stodgy old relatives raved! I didn't have any shortening, so I used all butter in the recipe, but they were still perfect. My little tip is to use a pizza roller to cut out the crescents...made it that much easier. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very tasty and high risers! The dough is very easy to handle. I would suggest cutting out some of the sugar if you intend to serve them as dinner rolls, but keep it as is if you want to make them into a sweet roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States