Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Recipe base is very good. I say this because I changed a few things and still got good rolls. Instead of potatoes, I used left over 'Cheesy Polenta' which is a recipe from this site. I used all wheat flour and used butter instead of shortening. We loved eating them with raw honey and butter. No one could taste cheesy polenta. A long time ago I made this recipe with potatoes and they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is my 'go-to' recipe for any kind of roll. They are delicious no matter what shape you make them. I especially like to use this dough for making cinnamon rolls... they come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I Loved the texture and softness of the rolls.I did some changes though.I used 1/2 cup oats and 3 cups whole wheat flour and then continued with the all purpose flour as needed.I also reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and used 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/3 cup butter flavoured shortening. I had instant potato flakes so used 1 cup of it instead.All in all it was really good and my kids loved it.I still have half of the dough left and I'm planning to make cinnamon rolls out of it.I'm sure it will turn out great.Thanx a ton for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These rolls are so fluffy and just WONDERFUL! Like other reviewers, I did not let them raise for 8 hours. I treated this dough like any other dough letting rise 'til doubled, then shaping into crescents and raising again. In all it took about 3 hours until the entire batch of dough was cooked. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shera Jemmett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was a good roll recipe. Don't be fooled by the name, these don't taste a thing like crescent rolls. They do however, make a nice roll. So if you want a good roll, this will do, but it doesn't have the taste or texture of a crescent. They were very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Made dough like the recipe said early kept very well in the fridge. Took out to go along with Easter dinner, didn't have time to make crescent rolls so I rolled out the dough and used a small round glass dipped in flour to cut out and made dinner rolls. The family loved them with honey butter or alone. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My family loved these. The only thing I did differently was to omit the sugar (we don't like sweet rolls). For some reason, I totally missed the part in the directions that said to refrigerate the dough, so I unintentionally skipped that part. Results were still great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very tasty, but needs to be watched closely to get the desired outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
so fantastic. i made for the fam for easter. the only thing i will do differently is lower the temp. the first batch was a little too done at 15 minutes so i turned down to 375 and the second cookie sheet was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Theses were great! I have never made bread before, baking with yeast was a foreign world for me. But the recipe was easy. I made them for Easter and everyone loved them! I will definetly be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeresaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States