Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Made this recipe and used as base for veggie pizza. It was a hit with the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I found these to be rather bland and dense. I have to be honest, I forgot to add the shortening, but I'm not sure that would have solved the bland taste. The dough rose wonderfully in the fridge, but I was in a hurry so I didn't do the full hour rise before baking (they did nearly triple in size in the oven). This could explain why I found them dense. Normally I would try the recipe again, but I found this one a bit too tedious, time consuming and messy too bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
It turned out great.... even though I forgot to add the sugar. I made it a second time and added the sugar and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
These are the best dinner rolls I have ever tasted. My family loves them and asks for them frequently. I have made them with and without the refridgerated rise and while they are very good without the slow, cold rise they are even better if the dough is refridgerated. Made this way they are even more delicate, tender and delicious. The only change I've made is after the first batch, I cut the sugar in half. Amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made these rolls following the directions exactly and they were fantastic! I made the dough the night before, let it sit in the fridge overnight, and when I came down the next morning, it had actually risen. I wasn't sure if it was possible for dough to rise in the fridge, but this worked just fine! And the finished product tasted fantastic! My husband and I both got stomachaches from eating too many, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These were really tasty. I doubled the recipe and used instant mashed potatoes, which worked great. I was cooking for a big party, so I had to maximize oven space and cook some on the top rack and some on the bottom. The ones on the top were too doughy on the bottom and the ones on the bottom were burned on the bottom. The perfect solution was just alternating racks halfway through. Other than these things I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very tasty and fairly easy to make for someone that is not a bread baker. They were a hit for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I thought these were delicious, but I'm only giving them 4 stars because my fiance's family thought they were much too sweet for dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
super light and delicate texture! This is what I've been looking for!!! I definitely used real butter since it tastes better and isn't as bad for you as shortening. I am not the best cresent maker, but found they turned out a little better if the triangles are wider and shorter, so they don't look like pigs in a blanket. SO Good! oh I did double the recipe for thanksgiving dinner there was a lot. and I did use the Bosch mixer to do it all including the kneading, I only kneaded it for 5 minutes since its more thorough. that made it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Photo by NBracken
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe. YUM YUM! It was very easy to follow. I made a double batch for our family dinner for Thanksgiving. I did find that baking mine at 400 for 15 minutes left them a little too dark for my liking. My next batch I did at 375 and it was better. I might not cut 16 with my 12 inch circle. They seem really small. Maybe cut 12 instead. These are light and fluffy. I don't work with yeast much because I'm always worried I'll kill the yeast. I did add a sprinkle of sugar to the water when I proofed the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States