Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner, and received several compliments and requests for the recipe. One relative said it was the best dinner roll she had ever tasted. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These rolls are to die for. I have never been able to make bread well (even other recipes from this site) but these turned out like little pieces of heaven. I used instant potatoes and also didn't leave them overnight, just let them rise for a few hours before continuing with the recipe. I lowered the oven temp. and found that they actually finished at only 375 in just 12 or so minutes (maybe because I used dark-coated pans). I usually shy away from breads because they take so much work, but I'm already looking forward to making these again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I think for the amount of work involved, that these are just okay. I'll stick to my favorite roll recipe on here (Buttery Rolls.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I could not get these rolls to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I used some left over garlic flavored mashed potatoes; they turned out wonderful!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Other than taking a long time to let rise, this recipe was easy and tasty. Defiantly not a quick bread, but my family loved them! The ones I made with cinnamon and sugar, my daughter suggested putting the melted butter and filling on the inside before rolling up, like a cinnamon roll, so that it is through out the crescent. You know, it's going to be good when you can't keep the kids out of the dough while it's rising. The recipe makes a lot so it's great for a large gathering. I loved the ideal in one of the reviews to use a pizza cutter to cut the wedges, it worked wonderfully. I used leftover mashed, red potatoes with the skins on. They worked out great and it gave them a little something else to chew on. We would defiantly make them again but maybe save it for special occasions due to the lengthy process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheKooktracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, New York, USA
Living In: Theresa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is the best roll recipe I've ever made. I too make it in my bread machine on the dough cycle. To do this you should half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a family favorite. I often make a double batch at the beginning of the week and use it through out the week. Great for many uses... rolls, cinnamon rolls, pizza dough, chicken and dumplings, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Most of my bread recipes use the yeast starter method of mixing water/milk, yeast, sugar and ~1/2C of flour then letting sit overnight in the refrig. I am not sure I would leave raw eggs to sit in this recipe for the 'up to 5 days' mentioned. Not sure that is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I made these for a play date with some other moms and their kids. I made them without the eggs as one child is allergic and used butter flavoured shortening. I only made 1/2 a recipe and rolled 1/2 of the dough around hot dogs for pigs in a blanket and 1/2 just as regular crescents. They were really good, I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States